RSS

Two miles, baby!

28 Nov

Saturday I bought a new pair of running shoes.  Yesterday I strapped them on apprehensively after changing into running clothes that I haven’t worn since September.  Tossed on my BondiBand.  Plugged in my headphones and the treadmill.  Pushed that magic little button that made the belt start to turn.  And I ran.  I ran slowly.  At least for me.  And I walked 1/4-mile before I started running and between the two miles and then again at the end.  It felt natural to be making those large muscle movements.  But then again, my ankle was tight.  But it didn’t hurt.  I paid very close attention to my stride.  I sweated.  I smiled.  And then I was done.  

Today? Today my thighs inside and out are sore.  But it’s a good I-actually-used-my-muscles-again sore.  I’m back.  It will be a slow process to get back to running like I was.  But I’ve literally taken the first step and I’m committed to get back in the saddle again.  

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Two miles, baby!

  1. Bari

    November 28, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Lightening McHooker will be back in no time!

     
  2. chocolate girl

    November 30, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    stride on!

     

Leave a Reply

 
