RSS

The Broken Chronicles 2

12 Oct

This last week has been rough. Emotionally.  I didn’t get the workouts in that I wanted to.  But Monday and Tuesday I did get my NTC ab workout in along with throwing in the first test of the 100 pushup challenge again. I need to get on that for today.  I also have been trying to make the pull-up bar my bitch.  Not sure if I’m succeeding.  I did get up to 7 chin-ups yesterday and 5 pull-ups.  So there’s that.  I feel like a lazy slug and that all my awesome hard work over the past 3 months is just wasting away.  I know.  I know.  You’ll tell me, “But Kirsten, you have a broken ankle in a cast.  You can’t workout like you used to.”  I miss it.  I miss the drenching sweat of intervals on the treadmill.  I’m crossing my fingers that my ankle will be healed enough next Thursday that the cast comes off and the boot goes on.  Not that I want the boot, but the boot means no more crutches.  I’m over the crutches.  Especially when I had the fun task of trying to figure out how to get the trash out last night and get the cans to the curb.  Yes, I forgot to have one of the kids do it before they all went to bed.  But you know what? I did it.  And I only almost fell over once.  I call that success.

I am still planning on completing The Sisterhood’s Run the Hood.  I will not be doing the 10K though.  In talking with Melissa, she said I could transfer to the 1-mile fun run.  I was looking forward to getting my 10K done in Vegas when I’m there in a week and a half.  I’m going to have to cope with the fact that I will log a mile at some point walking around Vegas that day.  It’s disappointing to say the least.  But what’s a broken runner to do?

My eating has picked up and I’m back on track with making (literally) healthier options and my budget has drastically changed so Starbucks mocha fraps are no longer the mainstay of my diet.  Three squares a day.

This next week will have continued core work via the ab workout, pushups and pull-ups.  A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in fitness

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “The Broken Chronicles 2

  1. Bari

    October 12, 2011 at 11:28 am

    First off: Yes, a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. I’m glad you’re eating heathier and getting some workouts in. Honestly, you are doing much more than most people would do given the ankle situation (myself included).

    Second: I love the new look here!

     
  2. brooke

    October 12, 2011 at 11:31 am

    i’m with bari – when i was broken i sat on the front porch and cried for two months. good for you getting it done!!

    as for starbucks – buy some good creamer and you’ll never miss it! okay so ya will, but flavored creamer is nice 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
