RSS

Not much to say

28 Sep

It’s Wednesday and that means it’s time for a weekly checkin.  I’m not sure there is much to report since I’ve got my lovely cast on my ankle.  But I thought it would be a good idea to keep consistent with these posts, so I have something to write about over here and this poor blog doesn’t get neglected.

I say not much has been going on in the exercise world, but hobbling around on crutches is definitely exercise of some parts of your body.  I’m glad I was trained up for Tough Mudder otherwise my arms really would have been in trouble.  Not to mention I hobbled around Chicago last Thursday…even hobbled close to 2 miles from Lincoln Park Zoo back to my hotel.  What Google maps said would take about 35 minutes, it took me 2 hours.  Heh.  Speedy I am not.  But that included many a break on the benches through the park and well, I did it.  I kept thinking I wanted to take a cab, but never got to a place where I saw one that could pick me up.  So I made it back to the hotel and promptly crashed into bed for a few hours.

I also made it through 3 airports on the crutches.  Leaving Chicago the security line was moving like molasses (and flying with a cast means extra security precautions, just so you know) and I thought I’d just get to my gate in time to board.  But I was hauling ass on those crutches with my bag and purse slung around my shoulders.  I was dripping sweat by the time I got to my gate…only to find out it was running about 30 minutes behind.  *deep breath*  But at least I had time to pee.

I did actually do “real” exercise yesterday.  I plunked down with my phone and Nike Training Club and worked out my abs.  It felt so good to stretch out my lower back.  I also have been trying to stay on top of my pullups.  The bar is just sitting there hanging.  I don’t want it to get lonely.  But honestly I’ve only done it twice in the last week.

I’ve been pretty exhausted lately.  I’m not sure if it’s my body coming down after all the training I was doing for Tough Mudder and my long runs for the half I did on September 11th.  Or if it’s the amount of current stress in my life right now.  Or, more likely, a combination of the two.  But I’ve been napping most days and still going to bed at my normal time.  I’m ready for some zen in life.  Though I don’t see it coming any time soon.  My silver lining is that I’m only supposed to be casted for a month (one week down, 3 to go) and then move on to a walking boot for 2-4 weeks.  So that puts me at getting back to running in December.  I can’t wait.  Running is such a stress reliever, ego booster for me.  I knew I was going to miss it…but it’s not surgery.  It’s not being told “your stupid determination ruined your chances for getting back to running.”  It’s knowing what I knew in the midst of the pain coming down that mountain.  I am young and healthy.  I will heal.  I will be out of the loop for a bit, but then I will come back strong.

Because I can.  And I will.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2011 in fitness, running

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Not much to say

  1. AZLB

    September 28, 2011 at 10:11 am

    hang in there get some rest and take care of yourself!!!!!

     
  2. Tiffany S (@spiffytiffy3)

    September 29, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Crutches are a bitch. Believe me, I know! Just doing laundry was exhausting. I remember dragging the laundry baskets (while hopping) to the top of the stairs and then throwing all the clothes down the stairs, then crutching down the stairs to sort the laundry and then drag it (hopping again) to the washer, then having to fold it into the baskets and have someone else (*ahem, Jerrod, ahem*) carry it back up for me. Whew! I’m tired just thinking about it! Oh, butt the best way to carry stuff is either in a backpack or in a grocery sack dangling from your hand – just a helpful tip! 😛

     

Leave a Reply

 
