RSS

Checking in 2 days out

14 Sep

Holy crap! I’d say I’m scared about Tough Mudder NorCal, which just so happens to occur in 2-1/2 days at the time I’m writing this, but I’m not really scared.  Will it be hard? Hellz yeah.  Of course it will be.  It will be a marathon of a different sort.  It will be long and hard.  I will be there with thousands of my closest “friends”.  Sorta like my marathon at Disney.  I will know people who are out there doing it too, but not necessarily be with them during the time on the course.  If you want to check out the course, here’s the link.

The only thing I’m *scared* of is the boa constrictor.  It *says* on the website that you crawl through pipes.  The pictures they posted on facebook today? Showed they are cut pipes.  So the bottom of them is open to the rocks and dirt and then they add water.  Confined spaces.  Water that will almost cover my head? Scares the heck out of me.  Will I get through it?  Of course.  But I think I may be taking a gel with caffeine at the top of the mountain.  Sorta my own version of liquid courage.

As I said, the rest of it is going to be hard.  I’m expecting to be totally beat up by the end.  And unless something *bad* happens (which my 10yo has told me is not acceptable), then there is no reason I won’t finish.  I know I will.

Today I did my final official Tough Mudder workout.  The intervals have gotten easier.  I still am tired by the end of them, but they don’t feel overwhelming anymore.  The strength aspect I’ve had a bit of trouble with lately.  My left shoulder has been weird so I’ve been taking it easy.  I can still get 5-6 pullups and chinups done each time.  Today I made it a point to sit down and make friends with my foam roller again.  My left knee has been a little weird lately and no real surprise, my IT band is mad.  I’ve now rolled it twice today.  I will continue to do it 2-3 times a day for the next two days.  I can’t have my knee freaking out on this 11-mile hike (last time I checked the website they said it was about 10 miles – must have had some alterations to the course once they got on the mountain) with all that the rest of me has to do.

I am excited about Tough Mudder.  It’s going to be a blast.  I promise a recap by the end of Sunday.  I want to get it done Saturday when everything is fresh in my mind..but I can’t promise I won’t be soaking and popping ibuprofen and trying not to move while drinking booze.

So an actual non-Tough Mudder update?  I’ve been eating well and trying to hydrate.  Tonight I’m drinking margaritas.  The next two nights I will be booze free.  The bootcamp style of the Tough Mudder workout followed directly after The Sisterhood’s Bootcamp.  I didn’t take any measurements because, well, I don’t worry about that.  I’d really like to know my body fat composition because I know it’s dropped significantly in the last few months.  (Granted I haven’t had it done in 16 years, but back then I weighed about the same and *looked* thin and healthy but had a BF% of, I think, 26% – much higher than I looked).  Today when I got out of the shower I stepped on the scale.  I’ve lost about 5 pounds this summer.  I also lost circumference on my waist as I had to go up a notch on my belt.

Now, don’t get disgruntled at me because I’m already thin.  I’m not gloating.  I’m telling you the hard cardio followed by weights has changed my body.  I am currently healthier than I have ever been in my life.  And I’m loving it.  I love knowing that this body has birthed three kids.  I love knowing that I’ve found my groove.  I know running will always be my go-to exercise.  But being able to do pullups for the first time in my life is pretty damn awesome.  I’m proud of the hard work I’ve done to get here.  Being healthy takes work.  Mental and physical.  You must just do it.  Seriously.  Life is crazy and busy and there aren’t enough hours.  Trust me, I know.  If you start small and say 2 days a week, then you create a routine.  You can adjust the days as the craziness of life gets in the way.  Then when you are comfortable doing 2 days, add a third.  I was worth it.  You are worth it.

So I’m going to send you to The Sisterhood.  They are starting Shrinkvivor again this fall.  It was a huge success for those who participated last year.  Go join up.

Remember what you put into your health is what you’ll get out of it.  No go get to it!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2011 in fitness, running

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Checking in 2 days out

  1. Ashley S

    September 14, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    You are going to rock TM. But we already know that.

    As for the 2nd half of this post, I love every bit of it. You get what you give, and motivation is fleeting, so just do it. 🙂

    Can’t wait for the recap, wish I could be there to watch!!

     
  2. Jeannie

    September 14, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Those pipes do sounds freaky but you will so rock this! You’ll have so much adrenaline that the pipes will be a complete blur. 🙂 congrats on the losing bodyfat too! Yep, hard core cardio and weights along with a healthy lifestyle can do that.

     
  3. Bari

    September 15, 2011 at 3:14 am

    I am so incredibly proud of you. All the workouts, physical & mental, that you’ve put unto your training is going to pay off in so many ways. You are going to kick that mountain’s ASS on Saturday. I cannot wait to read the race report!

     

Leave a Reply

 
