RSS

Burst into Summer – Aug 17th

17 Aug

Since I missed last week’s checkin on Wednesday due to life and craziness, I did write a post last Saturday.

I didn’t end up going for the hike with my brother yesterday.  I forgot the little one had a dentist appointment…and I had already rescheduled it once, so I didn’t feel right rescheduling it again.

But…I’ve been on top of my Tough Mudder workouts.  I’m getting stronger and I like it.  On Monday I wore my new New Balance shoes on the treadmill and I’m in love.  I can feel my calves and ankles more than normal because of the nature of a minimalist shoe, but I love them.  I did get one rubbing spot on the back of my right ankle from them, but nothing that some blister bandaids or moleskin won’t take care of.

My life has been sort of a rollercoaster lately.  And not the fun kind, but I’m staying motivated with my workouts.  If I didn’t have my workouts to focus on I think life would feel more overwhelming that it already does.  This weekend I have a 12-mile run on tap.  But instead of doing that, the plan is for T and I to go on a 10-mike hike/jog up in the mountains in the early afternoon before spending the night up at my parent’s place at the lake.  Then the following weekend I will run 12 here at home in prep for my half marathon on Sept 11th.  How is it almost September?

Mini-challenges?  Huh.  What were those again? Something new? Does getting a new pair of minimalist shoes and running in them count as new? Let’s go with that, shall we?

Next week’s mini-challenge of 10 deep breaths sounds like a good one.  I don’t foresee this rollercoaster ending anytime soon and then adding in the oldest two girls starting in a traditional school for the first time ever next Monday and I’m trying to remain calm and positive.  Let me tell you, it hard… for me.  They are excited.

So this next week will have me Tough Mudder-ing it and hiking it and taking lots of deep cleansing breaths.

The Sisterhood is also doing something awesome.  They are hosting a virtual 5K/10K in October.  I am planning on being in Las Vegas that weekend (Oct 22) for Barb’s 40th birthday celebration, but I think I can handle a 10K somewhere…either taking it to the streets of the strip or hopping on the treadmill at the Mirage.  *mental note…go sign up*

Okay.  The craziness of life is calling.  Catch with you all later!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Burst into Summer – Aug 17th

  1. Lissa

    August 17, 2011 at 10:28 am

    I hear you on the rollercoaster and craziness. Ditto.

    I know it’s going to be a big change for all of you with the girls going to public school this year. I know you will make the best of it, though!

    Yay for your Vegas 10K. Sounds so much more appealing than my North Dakota race. ;p

     
  2. Bari

    August 17, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    I say the shoes count for sure. And, squeee for getting Tough Mudder buff!!

     
  3. Adah

    August 18, 2011 at 5:24 am

    You are crazy busy and still make sure to get in your training. I need some of your dedication and motivation to “get er done”!

     

Leave a Reply

 
