RSS

Oops

13 Aug

I can’ believe I didn’t check in last Wednesday.  I had lack of sleep Tuesday night and barely made it through the day with all the stuff on my schedule, so here I am today.

Last weekend I didn’t end up getting a long run in.  I honestly can’t remember what happened.  Probably a lack of sleep mixed with life in general.  But it didn’t happen.  Oh well.  I’m not going to kick myself over it.  On Monday I did the Tough Mudder workout again, and it promptly kicked my ass.  Again.  My plan is to do this workout MWF.  Because of previously stated lack of sleep Tuesday night, I didn’t get to it this Wednesday, but I *did* do it Friday.  I pushed hard on the intervals…almost stopped early…and then finished strong.  By the end of the strength portion my legs were shaking and my whole body was spent.  This actually frightens me a bit because I still can’t fathom getting through this workout twice in a row.  But I’m going to do it.

The awesome part of all of this is that even though it kicks my butt every.single.time, I do feel myself getting stronger – especially in my upper body.  I’m up to 4 pullups in each direction – palms out, palms in, and sideways.  I’m going to get some video soon of me doing the workout.

Another Tough Mudder update is my brother invited me to go up to Squaw Valley this next Tuesday.  He has basically mapped out the general path of Tough Mudder and they are going to hike it and see how it goes.  I really want to go.  The elevation is going to kick my ass…or rather my lungs’ ass.  But I think it would give me a realistic picture of what’s to come.

Today, I got up early and headed out for a long run.  I signed up for a half marathon on Sept. 11th and I haven’t been doing much in the way of long runs. I filled up my hydration belt with Nuun and Cytomax and hit the road. Ten miles this morning! I am so excited that even though I walked a lot, I have built up enough of a running base over the past 3+ years that even without running much in the way of mileage I could head out and run 10 miles.  I will admit to my muscles being very tired this morning, but that was mostly repercussions of doing my workout yesterday.  I keep telling saying that consistency is the key to running.  You don’t have to run hard or far, but just get out there and do it…regularly.  Remember that.

I’ve been drooling over these shoes since I tried them on at Christy’s.  Today T and I headed up to Reno to hit up Eclipse Running.  I love this running store.  It’s a local business and they are always helpful and awesome.  They had the New Balance shoes I wanted and the trail shoes T was looking at.  They also sell the Hammer Gels that we use for an awesome price, $1 each.  We were helped by Lane (the helpful guy working today).  He even gave us some recommendations on socks that he swears by – lightweight, thin Bolega socks.  So what am I wearing right now?

This next week will me on my feet for more miles than they’ve seen in a long time (a total of 28!).  And I’m looking forward to it.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
