RSS

Tough Mudder Update

09 Jul

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted directly about Tough Mudder. Mainly because of the insaneroadtrip I was just on. Even though in the last couple of weeks my training has been almost nonexistent, I am back on the training wagon and gungho about it!

My goal in the next couple weeks is to build up my arms so I can do palms-out pullups. I need those muscles to develop so I can make it across some of the monkey bars!! Right now I can do one. For a girl who has never had much upper body strength, I’m making progress. But I’m still a long way from reaching my goal of halfway across the monkey bar obstacle.

I’ve been doing bootcamp ala The Sisterhood. That has done wonders for my strength and cardio. In the next 2 weeks I’m going to give the workout prescribed by Tough Mudder themselves a try. And see how badly I hurt the next day! I’m sure I will have found new muscles.

Now that I’m home and have 100% control over my food intake, I’m going to work on getting back into my training frame of mind…which means rare junk, lots of good quality carbs and protein and eating my salads and veggies. It also means staying on top of my hydration. I just ordered some more Nuun in my favorite of their new flavors, fruit punch. On my long runs and after all my runs, I drink at least 20 ounces of nuun-ed water. And then since it’s summer and hot, I will probably drink another before bedtime. My biggest fear is hitting a wall and becoming dehydrated.

I am also going to attempt to do my long runs every Saturday with the local trail running group. I figure I’ve got to get used to running on dirt and up hills and not die. I’d *really* like to get a pair of New Balance Minimus Trail shoes. I tried on a pair Christy had when I was in Texas and really liked how they felt. A nice fit and a thicker sole than my VFFs, which I still love, but since I want to try something that I don’t necessarily need a sock with. I’m looking at the bare minimum with enough gumption to get me through TM.

Tough Mudder is going to kick my butt. I’m going to remember a phrase on one of my BondiBands to help get me through.

Pain is inevitable. Misery is optional.

I think Tough Mudder encompasses that idea.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
