RSS

Trail Running

04 Jun

Last weekend my middle girl had a swim meet. She did well and I am so proud of her. But that’s not the point of this story. The point is that I ran into a fellow runner who leads a local trail running club. He invited me out for a 9-mile trail run on Memorial Day…which I flaked on. I wanted to. But the comfort of sleep won over. I did get on his email list though. There are basically runs scheduled every Saturday morning. I had originally scheduled myself for an 8-mile run today. I know I’m not going to get many runs and definitely not any long runs done while on #insaneroadtrip, so I was thinking one last hurrah before it begins.

I’m not sure if you know about trail running. It usually involves hills. And around these parts the hills can be steep. I live at the base of the Sierra Nevada mountain range. Trail run if has always intimidated me because it’s harder to get faster. The point of trail running isn’t about fast. It’s about enjoying the journey.

I committed to myself before heading out this morning that I would do the approximately 4.9-mike run that was an option for this morning. I say an option because there are so many trails that break off of one major trail head.

I figured that if I was going to be in a car for 8 hours tomorrow I didn’t want to push myself and up hurting from being immobile.

So I get up this morning, grumbling a little bit and nervous. I’m not a show up and meet new people kind of girl. It definitely out of my comfort zone. And when I found the trail head? There were about 30 people – mostly women in pink. And my heart may have stopped. Ack! Public. New people. Not sure where I’m supposed to be. Ack!

And then I put on my big girl pants and figured worst case scenario I’d run the trail for a couple miles and turn around and go back. No big deal.

I ended up finding Steve (the guy I met at the pool) and there were quite a few other people running/walking anywhere 2 miles to 20.

And off we went. Elevation is a big factor. Even though I run here normally, it’s quite hilly near the foothills (duh) and I was feeling it in my lungs. My legs felt good.

And guess what? I didn’t die. I did, however walk up a really steep hill. And I am 100% okay with that. Trail running is a different beast than road running.

After my turnaround point I stopped to take a few pictures. Have I mentioned how much I love living here? Because I do. The beauty astonished me daily.


No blue skies today but the wind and the temperature were perfect. Okay. Maybe the wind was a bit blustery in parts but once I was going, it felt good.

Here is me seconds after turning runkeeper off.


You know how people talk about a runner’s high? The last time I remember having one was on a 10-mile run last fall in the beginning of my training for Disney. MONTHS ago. Today? Today I was giddy. Today gave me confidence that I need to do more trail runs in anticipation of Tough Mudder. Today’s run was amazing. And I can’t wait until I get back from #insaneroadtrip so I can do it again.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Trail Running

  1. Ashley S

    June 4, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Sounds like you had an amazing run to kick off your #amazingroadtrip 😉 hope you have a blast over the next 5 weeks! Safe travels!

     

Leave a Reply

 
