RSS

May Your Way – Fitbloggin Style

25 May

May Your Way Challenge
It’s hard to believe another week has gone by.  But here I sit ready to tell you all about my week as part of this challenge.  Last week I told you all that I skipped my Tuesday run and was planning on running those miles last Wednesday.  Instead? I took a break. My week was so insane trying to get life taken care that for the first time in I don’t know how long, I didn’t follow my training schedule.  I have to admit it was a little scary.  Having a plan and sticking to it is what I do.  It’s my thang.  So *not* following it to a T last week…sorta makes me feel uneasy.

But the good news is that I ran with the amazing ChristieO and Christy on Friday in Baltimore for the Fitbloggin 5K.  My time seems a little slow for what RunKeeper said my distance was and how hard we were pushing, but it was a good solid run.

I have stayed on top of my pushups.  I even did my scheduled day of pushups in the hotel on Friday afternoon.  And if you haven’t seen the picture in the post below this one, it’s one of my biggest brags of all time.  Go check it out.  I *might* be a bit egotistical about the whole thing.  But that’s a rare feeling for me, so I’m going with it.

Monday was my first day back into normal life and I hopped on that treadmill for some speed work and loved every second of it.  And yesterday I did the same, though I shortened my run by a mile because there was just not enough time in my day yesterday.

I do want to add that last Friday at Fitbloggin, it was a day of exercise.  I got to try out kettleballs in one of the sessions and also the Ugi ball.  Pushups from your toes on the Ugi?  Harder than I thought possible.  So hard, in fact, that I couldn’t do it.  I had to drop down to my knees.

And then there were the probably 20 pushups I did with the whole clap thing in the middle.  I’ll just thank Lisa’s margaritas for that inspiration.

At this time in two weeks I will on the road and headed to Albuquerque.  I’m getting nervous about the lack of running I will be able to do over that 5-week period.  (Not to mention I haven’t even begun to pack.  I may be in denial).

I haven’t written down in my exercise log what I’m doing while on the road.  My goal is to at least do pushups on the days that I’m actually driving.  On the days I’m not driving, I need to be doing at least 30 minutes of NTC.

My eating hasn’t been fabulous, but it hasn’t been horrible.  Now if we are talking *drinking*, that’s a whole other ball of wax.  See above regarding Lisa’s awesome margaritas on Friday and then doing something that I *never* do, going to bars on Saturday night.

But I feel like I’m back on track.  My runs are done.  My pushups are done.  Today is NTC day.  Last night was tworkout day.

I’m not too keen on this week’s Sister Says though.  I did my “never done it before” stuff at Fitbloggin.  Can that count? Please?

So all in all, I’m doing fabulous.  I’m proud of where I’m at right now.  I’m proud that my motivation is coming back (hopefully not just in time to lose it on the road).

So let’s hear it for May! One week left, folks.  Let’s make it the best last week of May ever!!

(also? fitbloggin recap coming soon.  I’m still working on it!)

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2011 in fitness, running

 

4 responses to “May Your Way – Fitbloggin Style

  1. Adah

    May 25, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Way to rock that one arm pushup! You have good reason to be proud of that! Good luck on your road trip plans…it’s tough to get everything in!

     
  2. Bari

    May 25, 2011 at 9:49 am

    I luff you. You really did a great job this week – and you totally kicked some firefighter and men of fitbloggin ass last weekend!

     
  3. Trish

    May 27, 2011 at 4:09 am

    You are a rock star my dear! one arm pushups??!! My hero!

     

Leave a Reply

 
