RSS

May My Way – Check-In #3

18 May

May Your Way Challenge
Here we are.  Week 3.  And In 27 hours I will be out the door and on my way to Baltimore for Fitbloggin’11.  I am so excited for many reasons.  I’ve been to conferences before but never one related to blogging.  So I’m excited to experience the networking, the friendships, the learning.  Everything.  (It doesn’t hurt at all that I get to see/meet some of my favorite people.)

This last week has been hard.  Hard emotionally.  Hard physically.  I’ve been hitting my goals pretty much head on, except that I didn’t get my run in yesterday, but I’m hoping to hop on the treadmill this afternoon.  I did change my speed work that I had planned for Monday and made it a bit easier.  I was crunched for time and my focus was elsewhere, but I got it done.

I’ve been getting my pushups in and my NTC workouts.  I’ve been alternating days, so I’m working my upper body every day.  I restarted week 4 of 100 pushup challenge and started in column one.  I’m not necessarily pushing myself quite as hard on them, but the NTC “shoulder ripper” workout *burns*.  The good news is that I can do 4-1/2 pull-ups with my palms facing in and I’ve almost got 2 with my palms facing out.  Pull-ups are hard!! I’m so proud that I’ve gotten strong enough to do them.

Want to hear some awesome news? My brother and his girlfriend are going to do Tough Mudder! Unfortunately they can’t make Saturday, so they will be participating on Sunday.  I’m so excited for them!  It’s amusing though.  When we were talking about it yesterday, he said the part that makes him the most nervous is the 10 miles.  I’m quite positive that the 10 miles is going to be hard, but I can handle the physical drain of the run/hike, it’s the obstacles that I will have mental blocks with.  I will succeed though.  I’m determined to get that bright orange headband and wear it with pride!!

I’ve been sucking on water intake and mix that with crazy weather and my allergies flaring and I’m not feeling all that fabulous.  I aim to rectify the situation this week.  Especially if I’m going to be working on lack of sleep and a few extra drinks this weekend while in Baltimore.  And as sad as this is, I didn’t even aim for the 5 fruits and veggies a day.  I get 3-4 on average every day, and I just didn’t have it in me to make the effort to specifically count.

With regards to the Mantras? I have been doing *A LOT* of “just breathing” over my days.  I’ve been fairly successful given the craziness of life lately.

So here’s to this week being successful in following my goals.  That means I’m going to be accomplishing some NTC workouts from the hotel and dropping and doing my pushups in the middle of sessions on Saturday.  Just warning you!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2011 in running

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “May My Way – Check-In #3

  1. Brooke

    May 18, 2011 at 9:09 am

    good job with the NTC. this weekend will be *very* good for you.

    re: tough mudder & pushups. you are insane. that is all.

     
  2. Bari

    May 18, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I seriously need to do NTC more. Pull-ups? about the only ones I comprehend go on my niece. The ones that require arms strength? #fail You are seriously badass for doing 4 1/2 pull-ups. For realz.

    And ONE MORE DAY!!!!!!!!!

     
  3. AnnG

    May 18, 2011 at 10:24 am

    You are one HAWT strong momma!! Those NTC workouts are incredibly hard considering they are from an app on my phone!! I haven’t tried anything but the 15 min. ones and they are hard enough for me!! Have fun in Baltimore and give out extra hugs for us poor saps that have to miss out, k???

     
  4. Adah

    May 18, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Make sure someone gets pictures of you dropping and doing your pushups…us poor saps want to see that too! Enjoy your weekend…you deserve it!

     
  5. Mary Phelan

    May 18, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Great post! I will be seeing you in Baltimore. Looking forward to it!

     
  6. Trish

    May 18, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    You do deserve a wonderful weekend! Have fun and let loose! XOXO

     

Leave a Reply

 
