RSS

May Your Way – Checkin #2

11 May

May Your Way Challenge
Wow. Why do these weeks just seem to be flying by? It amazes me and scares me the older I get.  But I had a decent week.  So let’s get down to the nitty gritty.

1.  My runs? They are happening.  Just like they should.  I ran Thursday on the treadmill.  I had planned 5 miles for Saturday but my middle girl was making her first communion mixed with spontaneous company for the weekend, so I decided to take ChristieO up on her “Try (tri) it Thursday” and did my 5 miles on Friday morning before the normal date with the pool during my oldest girl’s swim lesson.  I swam 400 meters.  And it was hard after that 5 miles.  That 5 miles in the sun and warmth.  That 5 miles where I got 3 phone calls from my family (who knew I was running) which made me stop because they never call when I’m on a run.  They weren’t important calls, but I stopped and took them.  I ran Monday doing an awesome speed work drill of 3×800 m and averaged a 7:30 mm pace!!  So proud of that one.  I also ran 4 miles yesterday.  I’m sorta being a stickler on my runs right now.  I will be on the road for almost 5 weeks starting on June 5th and I know I won’t be running regularly (which makes me sad), so I’m trying to really push myself now so I won’t regress too far when I start running consistently in July.

2.  Pushups and NTC abs and arm burners.  Check and check.  And my arms? They are lookin’ good! When I was dropping my gymnast off on Monday, I decided I’d try a pullup.  I don’t remember trying a pullup since elementary school.  I did 3.  Yesterday I did 4.  Woot!  Tough Mudder here I come!!

3.  Road trip training.  I think I have found a couple good cross training type workouts on NTC that would be good for the road.  Lots of cardio and strength.  I picked two.  One is called “Get Strong-Beginner-Full Action” and the other “Get Strong-Intermediate-Drill Sergeant”.  I’m putting them down here so hopfully I remember which ones I thought would be good.  I’m still going to be doing pushups, but while on the road I’m going to aim for 30 pushups a day.

4.  I haven’t signed up for the Bizz Johnson half marathon that I talked about last week.  There’s been a lot going on lately and I just haven’t had a chance to discuss it with T.  Maybe this week.

I did not achieve or come close to the 64 ounces of water a day, but I did get to hop on the twitter “Happy Hour” last Thursday night during Big Bang Theory.  And I did the same thing with the Sister Chat on the hood Monday night.  I did participate in the Tworkout last night, but the only one who “saw” me was April.  Twitter was being a b**** on my phone and I wasn’t home, so I texted with April and did the exercises anyway.

Also? I haven’t checked in at the hood on the “30 minutes every day in May” but I’ve been keeping up with it.  Between my runs and the 30 minutes of NTC on the off days, I’m there.  I’m tired, but I’m there.

I hope everyone had a good week.  I’m sorry I haven’t been blog hopping.  I apologize.  Family life has been pretty crazy lately and I’ve barely had time to get my posts done.  But I love you all and keep on keeping on!!  You can do this! You are worth the effort to be a healthier you!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2011 in running

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “May Your Way – Checkin #2

  1. Brooke

    May 11, 2011 at 9:55 am

    pull ups are hard yo! i’m incredibly impressed

     
  2. Bari

    May 11, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    You are kicking ass and taking names! Can’t wait to see you next week!!!!!!

     
  3. Adah

    May 11, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    wow…you once again impress the heck out of me. All the running is good but add the pull ups and you are a rock star!

     
  4. AnnG

    May 11, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    It seems that most of us are having this kind of crazy busy schedule lately!! You are doing AWESOME!! I’m gonna give the NTC app a try tonight….I think! Thanks for suggesting it!

     
  5. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    May 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    DAMN! Pull ups? That’s uber tough. Or maybe you’re uber tough.

    Either way. You rock.

     

Leave a Reply

 
