RSS

Spring In2 Action – week 4 of Buff Brazen Bunnies

30 Mar

Spring In2 Action
This past week wasn’t horrible, but it sure wasn’t what I wanted it to be.  And if I’m being honest, that’s just me being Debbie Downer.  But it wasn’t horrible, but my long run for the week was torture.  So let me break down my goals and see how I did overall.

  1. Running 3-4 days per week: Well, I got in three.  Thursday I did a push pace run.  Essentially a short run really fast.  I did 2 miles in 16ish minutes (Daily Mile rounded it up 17 minutes). I felt good and strong, which I like.  A lot.  So when Saturday rolled around I figured I had some good fast workouts under my belt for the week, and that my 10-miler was going to be a good run.  I was hopeful that it was going to be awesome because I had really pushed myself the previous Saturday on my 9-mile run on the treadmill.  This 10 mile run was anything but good.  I struggled with every step.  It was windy, but not as bad as I was expecting.  But my legs felt like tree trunks and I kept trying to take light, gentle steps, but instead every step felt like a big clunk.  It was horrible.  I walked a lot.  I barely made that 10 miles in under 2 hours…which, to be honest, is my goal for 13.1 in May.  I *might* be revising that goal.  I skipped my speed work on Monday because of an appointment that messed with my whole schedule.  But I think my knees needed a rest after after all the clunking that happened on Saturday.  I did end up getting a 6-miler in on Tuesday on the treadmill at my goal pace, but I stopped every 1.5 miles because it felt so hard.  I’m wondering if I’m pushing too hard on my speed and tempo runs that I’m wearing myself out.  It’s been something I’ve been pondering.
  2. Nike Training Club – I got guilted into doing this once – because I saw that Ashley had done it.  I was going to do it again on Monday evening just to say “I DID IT TWICE”, and then I sat down on the couch with T after getting done with work relatively early and promptly fell asleep.  But at least I got it done once.
  3. 100 pushup challenge – Whoa-boy.  This is tough.  I’ve been doing really well…until Monday.  My last set was supposed to be 33, and I had total body fail.  I could.not.do.one.more.  I will be starting week 5 today, and I’m scared.  I did max out on my exhaustion test last night with 36.  It was hard, yo. I have weak wrists due to some carpal tunnel issues I have, and between the pushups and the extra hours I’ve been working, they ache almost as much as my pecs after doing the pushups.  But I do notice a difference.
  4. Water – This hasn’t been horrible but it hasn’t been great either.  I’ve been getting in probably 40 ounces a day.  Which I should be striving for more given the fact that I’m drinking at least 2 cups of coffee every day.  I did make a point to drink 24 ounces of Nuun Friday night before bed because I had 2 glasses of wine with a friend that evening and knew I needed the hydration for my run on Saturday.  I also drank another 24 ounces before I left on my run and went through 20 ounces on my run.

Overall it looks to be a pretty good week.  I persevered on my runs. I drank a decent amount of water, I actually got a NTC workout done, and I’m staying on top of my pushups.  Now if only I get rid my brain of how horrible the last two runs were I’ll be just fine.

But at least I’ve got Bari along for the ride with me.  She’s kicking ass with her pushups and is gearing up for her first 25K run.  Smooches, girl! Love you!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Spring In2 Action – week 4 of Buff Brazen Bunnies

  1. Emily

    March 30, 2011 at 11:11 am

    The push ups are still kicking my butt. I actually have been procrastinating on doing Week 3 day 2 after the day 1 was so horribly hard! Good job on meeting most of your goals!

     
  2. Adah

    March 30, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Good job…some day when I grow up I want to run like you do. being a Debbie Downer is sometimes necessary to push ourselves out of a funk. You’ve acknowledged those feelings…said them out loud…wrote them down now toss them aside and get out there and kick some butt!

     

Leave a Reply

 
