RSS

Spring in2 Action – Week 1 of the Buff Brazen Bunnies

08 Mar

 Spring In2 Action

One week down, five to go.  So how have you been doing with your goals for this challenge.  Me? Pretty good.  Let’s review.

1.  Running 3-4 days a week  – I ran Thursday, Sunday, Monday, Tuesday.

2. Nike Training Club – nope.  Not once.  Thought about doing the abs workout after my run yesterday and I ran out of time.  Could I have squeezed it in somewhere? Yes.  Did I? No. 

3. 100 pushup challenge – Success.  I will be doing my pushups on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.  Those aren’t typically run days for me and it’s easy to squeeze in the few minutes in between questions from the kids.

4. Increase water intake – Yes. I’ve definitely been drinking more.  On non-run days I’m taking in about 40 ounces of water.  On run days it’s 60-70.  Not high volume but enough to keep me peeing.

All things considering I’m doing fine.  I also have been swimming on Friday mornings when my oldest is taking private lessons.  I’m only in the water for 30 minutes, but that’s long enough for me.  I have an aversion to my face being in the water.  I never learned to breath properly and the whole exhaling in water, turn head and then inhale has always left me choking on water.  But you know what? Last Friday I did 100 m of freestyle with my face in the water.  There is no doubt that I drank some water, but I did it.  First time ever.  I’m going to try it again this Friday.  But don’t call me a swimmer yet.  I’d still rather be backstroking it.  🙂

I know I didn’t make any commitments to avoiding foods or making better food choices, but I have to come clean that I ate a box of Thin Mints.  By myself.  In less than 24 hours.  They were good.  And now they are all gone and I can’t do it anymore. 

This next week should be a good one, but I am traveling this weekend to see Beki and her Knight.  T and I are going barrel tasting with them this weekend.  And I’m really excited!  Not sure what the food situation will be like, but the plan is to get my 9-mile long run in Sunday morning before headed back to reality.  Is it weird that 9 miles outside sorta freaks me out?  It shouldn’t. 

Oh! I almost forgot.  T emailed me yesterday morning and asked if I’d be interested in doing the Tough Mudder this September.  I’ve looked at the tentative course map and of all the things that frightens me is the last part.  Sprinting through a field of live wires and getting shocked? After running and climbing and traversing and swimming 10 miles? That? Does not sound like fun.  But I think we are going to do it with some friends.  So, in addition to hopefully running in three half marathons, I might be adding this 2 weeks after my second 13.1  and 3 weeks before my third 13.1.  I may have lost my marbles.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in running

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Spring in2 Action – Week 1 of the Buff Brazen Bunnies

  1. Brooke

    March 9, 2011 at 5:43 am

    mud runs? fun. electrocution? insanity! IJS.

    great job with reaching all your goals. and look at that swimmer coming out in you!! 🙂

     
  2. Bari

    March 9, 2011 at 7:22 am

    That run looks freaking INSANE! I think I’ll pass on the mud runs and the electrocution, thankyouverymuch. Crazyness.

    You are kicking ass on this challenge. I, too, did not give NTC the attention it deserved last week, but there is always this week. I’m very proud of you for the swimming. Maybe you could look into an adult swim class. There are a few places in my area that gear these classes to people wanting to do tris and improve their technique. Maybe they can help you with the breathing part.

     
    • girlsworld

      March 9, 2011 at 9:57 am

      Uhm. A tri? Yeah. No. Too much pressure. Maybe in 5-10 years I’ll be ready.

       
  3. Ashley

    March 9, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Like Bari said, if you are interested in being a better swimmer (not for tris, but just because) I’d look into maybe a lesson or two. If you find someone who has some experience with adults even better. 🙂

     
  4. Trish

    March 9, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    You did a lot this past week! I am wowed 😉 Omgosh I just remembered reading your post I have a box of Thin Mints coming. I ordered them from my niece…oh ugh!!!

     
  5. Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com

    March 10, 2011 at 5:27 am

    Hey, you don’t have to be perfect! It sounds like you’ve accomplished a lot!

     
  6. Karena

    March 10, 2011 at 5:40 am

    Great job as always, K! Love that you’re working on the swimming thing. If the new pool here EVER opens, I’m looking forward to getting back in the water as well. The mud/obstacle course/electro-shock therapy run sounds fun. And insane. It will definitely give you incentive to finish strong!

     
  7. minxz

    March 10, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Why did the girl scout cookies have to come out right as I was trying to recommit to wl lol. I love your take on the thin mints!

     

Leave a Reply

 
