RSS

Week 7 – Power of One

16 Feb

Power of One Challenge

This week has been pretty awesome actually. Friday? I got new shoes. I love them. They are so comfy. I ran 7 miles on the treadmill last Saturday and I felt good about it. I was definitely tired but I did it.

I was also excited for Friday evening because that was the night of the Shrinking Olympics award ceremony. I ended up with 5 medals! Here’s the breakdown:
Half-marathon relay – Gold.
Planks – Bronze – tied with Ryan.
4-mile relay – Silver
1 mile dash – Bronze
and the one that I still cannot believe
500 m swim – GOLD.

This amazes me because I am not a swimmer. Well, I take that back. I’m a backstroker. My face? Does not go in the water. I never figured out breathing and even though T tells me I should take some swimming lessons and learn how, I have no desire to. So instead, I backstroke. But I never thought I’d medal here. Heck, the only reason I did it was because it happened to fall on the day that I’m usually at the pool for my oldest’s swim lesson.

On the food front I haven’t been nearly as good. Saturday night I made cinnamon rolls. We’ve been going to church Saturday afternoons, much to the chagrin of my kids, because there are no donuts after the 4 pm mass. Only Sunday mornings. So I told them I’d make some cinnamon rolls. Two full pans were gone by Monday evening. I ate more than my fair share and damn they were yummy. But this is why I don’t put this stuff in my house…because I’ll eat it. And then we went out for an early Valentine’s family dinner on Sunday and I ate a bunch of yummy Mexican food along with an amazingly potent margarita. I’m now recovering from all the crap I ingested over the weekend.

This next week I’m just planning on sticking to my training plan I have made for myself and pick back up on my water intake.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in running

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Week 7 – Power of One

  1. Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com

    February 16, 2011 at 10:22 am

    Mexican food gets me everytime! Yay on the medals!

     
  2. Heather A.

    February 16, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Awesome! Damn those cinnamon rolls, they do that to me too! What’s your training plan that you laid out? Do you have another race in mind?

     
    • girlsworld

      February 16, 2011 at 10:42 am

      My next race is a half marathon at the beginning of May.

       
  3. AnnG

    February 16, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    you rocked those olympics, girl!! Yay for new shoes!

     
  4. Tiffany

    February 16, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Don’t you love new shoes! That is the best. Great job on the olympics! I can’t believe that I am now in the same boat with you in terms of the junk food. I always pay for it and don’t feel great for several days… So we know when your next half is… BUT, when is your next full marathon? 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
