RSS

Power of One – Week 6

09 Feb

Power of One Challenge
Let’s see if I can remember this past week! It was a crazy one.  And the only way to find out what I did was by going to Daily Mile.  Have you been to Daily Mile? If not, you totally should.  (Though I think most of my peeps reading this are on daily mile.  If you’re not, get started! It tells you how many donuts you’ve burned. If that’s not awesome, I’m not sure what is.)

I participated in the Shrinking Olympics, which was fun last year and I was so excited that they brought it back.  I did the 3-mile Wii hula hooping, the 1/2-mary relay, the 500 m swim, and the plank hold.  I was quite happy with all of my times – though I know that I got whooped on most of these.  But I don’t mind.  I gave it 100% and that’s what the Shrinking Olympics are all about.

Here’s my confession (yes, I should have posted this yesterday, but I usually don’t do the confession posts), I still don’t have new running shoes.  *ducking heavy things being thrown in my direction*  It didn’t seem the battle I wanted to wage on Sunday.  But soon.

I did also go for a 6-mile run on Saturday which felt pretty crappy for the first couple of miles.  There was walking involved.  And then I took a caffeinated gel, and the second half didn’t seem so hard.  I might have a “problem”.  I’m going to blame it 100% on marathon training.  I got in the habit of fueling early and on schedule during my long runs because I never wanted to “hit the wall”.  And now? The person who used to go for a 60-90 minute run without water, she now needs a gel at mile 2-1/2 to complete 6 miles.  But as I’m sitting here typing this out and feel like I’m coming down with something (I’m not getting the plague.  I’m not getting the plague.), I know today is a run day and I want to get on my treadmill and do it.  Which makes my brain happy.

Another confession.  I haven’t been making my daily 1 mile.  Today should be day 21 of 100.  I am at just over 28 miles over those last 21 days.  So maybe instead of focusing on a mile a day, I’ll just shoot for 100 miles in 100 days.  Which shouldn’t be a problem as I’m starting my training for my half marathon in May.  So am I failing? Sorta.  But not really.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Power of One – Week 6

  1. Brooke

    February 9, 2011 at 10:05 am

    hmmm…if we just focus on the 100 miles in 100 days part i’m still in this too! 🙂

     
  2. AnnG

    February 9, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    I think the point is to get the 100 miles in…at least that’s what I’m aiming for!! You had a pretty great week with all the workouts!! GO BUY NEW SHOES!! Hey, who really needs an excuse to buy shoes??? Keep in mind your feet will thank you for them!!

     
  3. Bari

    February 10, 2011 at 5:09 am

    If you are failing on the 100 mile challenge, then I might as well give up completely! Seriously, I knew the 1 mile a day was not realistic because I’d have to go to the gym and driving 40 minutes to do 10 minutes on the TM was rediculous. I’m going for total miles, too.

    Now, go out and buy some new shoes before you hurt yourself.

     
    • Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

      February 11, 2011 at 9:34 am

      NOT failing…adjusting. Always adjusting.

      And listen to Bari. She’s smart.

       

Leave a Reply

 
