RSS

Power of One – Week 5

02 Feb

Power of One Challenge

Dang.  This week was not necessarily what I wanted.  I didn’t get to the Wii, but I did do three workouts using the Nike Training Club app.  My abs are sore, but I’m determined to work on my core and make the abs and my lower back stronger to better support me when I get back to running.  I did much better with staying on top of eating regularly and getting my water intake.  I also have stayed on top of the 100 miles in 100 days challenge.  Technically I’ve got more than 1 mile per day so far, but I’m making sure I get in a mile a day regardless of what else I may do.  It’s that whole moving and making my muscles work every.single.day.  Which is what I took the challenge to be about.

And now enter my whine.  Sunday my oldest had a gymnastics meet.  Which just so happened to be across the way from the Nike Outlet.  So I went in to try on shoes.  I *really* wanted to get a pair that were very comfy and relatively cheap (only $60), but with trying to be frugal and the gymnast having two meets in March (that I’m supposed to be coming up with $100 for each one, like now), I didn’t buy them.  And it’s killing me.  A lot.  I’ve always been able to justify the cost of running shoes in the past, but now? I’m having trouble doing it for myself.  I know we technically don’t have the cash right now given what we need to fork over for the kids, but I hate being this selfless.  I miss running so much.  And putting on those shoes and running around the store with no pain.at.all.  It made me sad to walk out of the store without them.  *sigh*  I effing hate being a responsible adult sometimes.

Anyway.  So plan for this week is to keep up with my at least a mile a day, get an actual run in and have it not hurt (say tomorrow for the half-mary relay), and do 2-3 workouts with the NTC app.  (Total random thought: NTC in my other life as the wife of an Active Duty guy training with the Army means National Training Center.  Nike Training Club needs a better acronym.  IJS)

And I’m participating in The Shrinking Olympics.  Here’s my lineup:

Tuesday: 1 mile run

Wednesday: 3-minute hula hoop on the Wii

Thursday: 1/2 marathon relay with Brooke, Bari, and Ashley

Friday: 500 m swim

Sunday: Plank hold.

Oh, I forgot to mention that I also started reading ChiRunning.  I think ChristieO mentioned it at one point in time last fall.  I’ve been meaning to read it and just found a gift card to Borders, so I downloaded it to my phone and have been reading it while getting my mile in on the treadmill.  I’m hopeful that it in combination with my knowledge about barefoot running will help me get to a point where I am having fewer injuries – especially in my ankles and feet, where I’ve been plagued with problems since the end of my training for San Diego last year.

So here’s the concept of “knowledge is power”.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Power of One – Week 5

  1. Bari

    February 2, 2011 at 9:21 am

    Having to be selfless for our kids sucks sometimes. I hear ya on that.

    Hoping we are dug out by Thursday so I can get to the gym for our relay!!!! Maybe I should do the swim on Friday. Maybe.

     
  2. Brooke

    February 2, 2011 at 10:43 am

    woohoo for the hottest relay team in all of the sisterdom! 🙂

     
  3. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    February 4, 2011 at 4:26 am

    I’m so sorry about your continued aches and pains. I hope that you’re able to work out a solution sooner rather than later!

     
  4. Tiffany

    February 8, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Yeah, I was thinking NTC was something else, too! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
