RSS

Power of One – Week 4

26 Jan

Power of One Challenge
Mmmm. This past week?  Is that what we’re talking about?  Well, it hasn’t been all that I was hoping it to be.

Friday I did take that class offered by a local Physical Therapy place. It’s called CoreAlign.  The idea is to strengthen your core and that will make you stronger in other areas of your exercise life.  It was a good workout, but I didn’t sweat.  I felt my leg muscles being used (which they loved).  And I felt my upper back and arms (which were mildly sore on Saturday).  It was fun and interesting to find out where my weak spots were.

Saturday I went out for a short run of 3.1 outside, which was really my first run since Disney.  I wanted to see how everything felt.  For the most part my muscles felt tired, but I’m attributing that to the fact that they hadn’t been used for running in almost 2 weeks.  It’s amazing what a little break does to your stamina!

And I did end up starting 100 miles in 100 days – only to realize that I *need* new running shoes.  I had been walking my daily mile on the treadmill but I totally forgot about it on Sunday.  That’s what happens when you’ve been going warp speed for 6 months and you have a day where you don’t *have* to do anything.  So Monday I put on my running shoes and decided I’d get two quick miles in on the treadmill.  And then the edge of my right foot cramped up…with every step it hurt.  And it hurt through most of yesterday.  I’ve decided that I’m going back to my Vibrams for now for everyday life.  My stride while wearing my VFF’s is the only time my foot doesn’t feel ouchy.  I’m hoping to be able to find a good pair of shoes on Sunday when I’m up by the Nike outlet that don’t cost an arm and a leg – because right now I don’t have that to give.

So I feel like I’m in limbo right now.  This is the first time in a long time that I haven’t been getting a good cardio workout done 3 days a week.  It makes me sad.  But at the same time I know that I’m supposed to begin training for my half in May in the next week and a half and I’d really like to not be hurting when I start training again.

My plan for the week.  Get on the treadmill and get my mile in every day.  I need to move.  Get on the Wii and do a workout with EASports twice.  Drink more water (I’ve been slacking here and drinking more coffee because work has been crazy.)  Eat decently.  I’ve been eating good foods, but not enough.  My pendulum swung all the way to the other side from my eating during training – and that’s not good for anyone in my house.

I’m hoping I feel better mentally by this time next week with some good, pain-free miles under my belt.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2011 in running

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Power of One – Week 4

  1. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    January 26, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Are you ultimately going to go to barefoot all the time?

     
    • girlsworld

      January 27, 2011 at 8:25 am

      I’m not sure. I did get up to 8 miles last summer in my VFFs. But it’s such a slow process, I’m not sure if I have the patience or not.

       
  2. ryan a

    January 26, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    shoes are a crazy thing- i’ve experimented with so many recently. I had Nike Free v 7.0, but felt my knees tweaking after a number of runs. Rested and tried to slowly add miles and always ends the same!

    Of course they can’t keep a model the same to save their lives, so I am living out of my lunar lites from early summer 2009…eeks. Waaaaay too many miles on them!!

    Good luck on the treadmill plan!

     
    • girlsworld

      January 27, 2011 at 8:24 am

      It’s funny, I never had problems with shoes until I was informed that I should buy a certain pair of shoes. I’m starting to believe that if it’s comfortable to you, then the shoe will work.

       
  3. Bari

    January 26, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    Yep, you need to stay healthy. No broken hookers allowed.

     
  4. Tiffany

    January 26, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    Take care of yourself girl! It sounds like going back to your VFF’s will be helpful for your shorter mileage. Isn’t it amazing what just a short amount of time off does?!?! I am blown away by that… even in the face of doing a strong amount of other cardio.

    Hang in there and make yourself a priority this week. You deserve it and you (and your family) need for you to do it!

    Oh, love the new look too!

     
  5. AnnG

    January 26, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Hope you get those new shoes so you can start feeling good with your workouts again!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
