RSS

Power of One Check-In – week 3

19 Jan

Power of One Challenge

This past week was one most of resting up and enjoying my down town of not running a bazillion miles.  Although Saturday morning was beautiful and sunny and I thought, “what a great day for a run!”  But I didn’t.  I respected my week of rest and by Thursday I was feeling no lingering pain from running the marathon.  (Btw, I *love* saying that!)

On Monday it was an unseasonably warm January day and since it was a holiday, so we went on a hike as a family.  We have great trails literally a one-minute drive from our front door.  The girls did great.  I wore my Five Fingers so I was actually slower than them on the partially rocky trail.  I actually did jog in places where it was all dirt or sandy.  And it felt good!

Before we left for the hike, though, I got on the Wii and did a 25-minute workout on EASports Active 2 (? I can never remember which version I have.)  So my legs were already a little tired going into the hike.

One thing I realized that surprised me was that I was used to eating a certain amount of food trying to keep up with my exertion.  I’d serve myself a plate of food at meal time and have trouble finishing it.  And I snacked A LOT through training and have found that I’m looking to snack when I’m not hungry.  So carrots are my friend lately.  (Along with the box of chocolate covered macadamia nuts that no longer exist.)

So this next week?  My plan is pretty loose at this point.  I’d like to get on the treadmill mill a couple times for 3 miles or so.  Definitely get on the Wii – because my muscles are a little sore from doing it Monday.  I still need to call and set up my Christmas present of two appointments for core physical therapy.  Maybe I’ll make that call today.

I am excited though because Beki is planning on coming to visit in May and we are going to run a half marathon in May.  So my training for that officially begins in February.

I’m still debating on joining April for her 100 miles in 100 days.  I know I *should* do it…just because, but I’m debating because it could become more of a PITA of being one more thing on my to-do list everyday.  But I’m still thinking about it.  I will make my decision before my tomorrow start-date is over.

I’m hoping you had a good week of making progress towards *your* goals.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in running

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Power of One Check-In – week 3

  1. Brooke

    January 19, 2011 at 7:23 am

    do it do it do it do it do it do it do it do it do it do it do it do it do it do it

    isn’t peer pressure a wonderful thing?

     
  2. Bari

    January 19, 2011 at 7:59 am

    All the cool kids are doing it.

     
  3. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    January 19, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    I’ve never known you to have downtme. I’m not sure how I feel about it… : )

     
  4. Heather A.

    January 19, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    Congrats on finishing a marathon! That’s my goal for fall. I hear ya on adding one more thing to the to-do list. Between logging food, logging miles, etc. it becomes a lot to keep up with. But… like they said, I guess all the cool kids are doing it ; )

     
    • girlsworld

      January 19, 2011 at 3:26 pm

      Ha! Yeah. I guess all the cool kids are doing it. I was referencing the other aspects of my life aside from the exercise. But I did the mile today. We will see if life allows me to hit 100 days.

       
  5. AnnG

    January 19, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Sounds like you are having a great week of down time!!

     
  6. tricia

    January 21, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    I was just telling my hubs how hard it is to return to eating like I did prior to marathon training. Man I miss carb loading 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
