RSS

Goals. We all need goals.

14 Jan

The Monday Project

**Update: I need a mileage goal for the year.  Last year I hit 883.  I won’t be training for a marathon (probably) but I’d like to hit 800 again this year.  If I end up being crazy again, so be it.  Maybe one year I’ll aim for 1000 miles.***

I’m not sure I’ve ever participated in one of The Sisterhood’s projects.  Don’t be hating, okay?  I didn’t need to sort through my pantry.  I didn’t really want to dream big with the letters to myself.  And this year is no different, but I feel like playing along with setting goals for this year.

My problem right now sitting here staring at the computer is I’m not sure how many races I can plan.  T works for the state of Nevada.  In case you haven’t heard, Nevada is trying to keep up with California in the “our economy sucks worse than yours” race and doing a pretty damn good job at keeping up.  So race fees? Well, forking over $100 a pop for half marathons is a little steep.  And I’m not sure I can justify paying $30 for 5k’s – even though I’d love to get out there and do them.  There’s actually a 5k series that runs from April through September that I’d be thrilled to do.  I think it sounds like fun…but the overall cost is $200.  At this point? That’s not happening.

And then mix in the fact that there may be some huge life-changing things happening this year, I don’t feel like I can commit to races.  So my goals can’t be race specific.

I’d like to run a sub 25-minute 5K.  I think with good training and speed work I can accomplish this.  Even if it only happens on my treadmill at home.

I’d still love to run a sub 2-hour half marathon.  If the life-changing thing doesn’t happen I’m planning on running the Nike Women’s half marathon again this coming October.  I’d also like to run with The Sisterhood in San Diego – not because I want to run in San Diego again (because that race sucked for me), but I want to run with my girls again.  Count in me working insane hours to get my ass to Fitbloggin in May for the 5k and maybe a couple of other 5k’s locally.

T and I have decided we want to get the girls involved in running.  Even if it’s not a lot, I’d love to be able to sign them up for the kids 1-mile fun runs and have them enjoy it.  If we make it to San Diego I think it would be awesome to have them do the Kid Rock 1-mile run.  That way they can really see what I love about racing.

In regards to money? I’d like to keep our head above water.  I’d like to work my fingers to the bone in order to take some of the pressure off of T.  He works really hard and I wuss out some evenings.  I can’t do that this year.  Granted, if the life-changing thing happens, then I probably won’t work at all, but the situation will lend itself to paying off bills fairly quickly.

So, did I make any actual concrete goals?  Yeah, not so much.  But I will keep running.  I will keep eating relatively healthy.  I will keep training – even if they are only races in my head.  For now, that will have to do.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Goals. We all need goals.

  1. Melissa

    January 14, 2011 at 11:18 am

    And we will continue to cheer you on, no matter what your endeavors are.

    But I really, really want you to be in SD with me. Who else will I get tattoos with? ;p

     
    • girlsworld

      January 14, 2011 at 11:23 am

      This is a good point you make!

       
  2. Brooke

    January 14, 2011 at 11:20 am

    sometimes life isn’t constant and that’s okay. you know where you want to be and what you need to do to get there – even if your life this year is a “choose your own adventure” novel.

     
  3. roo

    January 15, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Your head is in the right place. I have no doubt you’ll accomplish what you set out to do this year! And I love the involving your kids in running idea. I was talking to K1 tonight about it and he said “I hope your back gets better mom so we can run together cuz I wanna race you and beat you.” Too cute. Guess I need to get that fixed quick, huh?

     
  4. christieo

    January 25, 2011 at 11:08 am

    You have an idea of what you want to do and where you want to be! That’s the first step, anyway! So glad you found this project worthy enough to do!! LMAO just kidding. Now go write a letter to yourself. ;P

     

Leave a Reply

 
