RSS

Power of One – Checking In

05 Jan

Power of One Challenge
How can we be a week into this challenge already? Which means that I’m that much closer to Disney.  Yikes!

This past week has been good overall.  Yes, there was booze on New Year’s Eve.  Yes, there were chips and dip (one of them being an incredibly yummy chocolate chip cookie dough dip to be eaten with graham crackers!).  But, all things considering I’ve stayed on track for eating healthy.  I’m an overachiever, if you haven’t noticed, and during tapering for a race I don’t carb-load for one week, I do two!  🙂   But not really.  I just keep eating the way I normally do with significantly fewer miles being expended.

I accomplished a 5-mile run on Thursday on the treadmill and then I was planning on running Saturday afternoon with Beki (she and her family came for NYE!), but we had a little surprise of a few inches of snow on the ground when we woke up to the new year.  So I ended up hitting the treadmill for my last “long” run of training of 8 miles.  My motivation has still be waning, which is, at this point, more annoying than anything else.  But yesterday I did my very last training run in prep for this *little* marathon (insert eye roll here).  And it was good.  4 miles of a tempo run.  Four.straight.miles.  I haven’t run 4 straight miles in I have no idea how long.  I have either been stopped by traffic lights or brokenness or my own mental exhaustion.  I probably would have wussed out and walked a bit, but I was cramming those four miles into a 50-minute time frame in which I had to pick up my youngest at preschool.  So, I did it. And it felt good.  I did not feel my hip at all.  I did start to feel the pull in my ankle, but it wasn’t painful.

So this week? This week is going to be full of not a whole lot.  I have packing to do…for myself and the kids – who are spending the weekend with my parents.  And then next week will be resting from running.

Oh! I did get EASports Active for Christmas and I tried it out last Thursday evening.  It was a good workout, though I only burned 110 calories in that 24 minutes.  With running I burn about 100 calories per mile.  But I need the strength aspect of it.  So that’s what I’m planning on working on next week.

I am most excited to get to see ChristieO again.  I’ve missed that little powerhouse!  And I get to meet Brooke and Audrey for the first time! Sooooo excited about that.  So here’s to the coming week in which I will complete my first full marathon!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Power of One – Checking In

  1. Bari

    January 5, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    So, so proud of you! I wish beyond measure that I could join you in Florida in a few days, but I’ll have to just be there in spirit. Or by text. Or on the phone. Yah, whatever.

    You are going to kick Mickey’s butt!

     
  2. Tiffany

    January 5, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    Great week Kirsten!

    I can’t believe it is time for Disney already… You are going to do awesome and I am sure will have a great time with great company! Give ChristieO, Audrey and Brooke big hugs for me! I can’t wait to read your race report!

     
  3. Tami @ ThisMomsDelight.com

    January 6, 2011 at 5:59 am

    How long does it take you to run 5 miles? I wanna run … some day…

     

Leave a Reply

 
