RSS

Training

16 Dec

May 2010.  One month before the Rock-N-Roll San Diego half marathon.  Ankle hurting.  Insert rest period + ice + ibuprofen.

September 2010.  One month before Nike Women’s Marathon (half).  Other ankle hurting.  Insert lighter training, ice + ibuprofen.

December 2010 – One month before DisneyWorld Marathon.  Ankle & hip hurting.  Insert lighter training + ice + ibuprofen.

I don’t like this pattern.  I’m trying to figure it out so maybe during training for whatever race I do next,  I won’t have this problem.  It’s frustrating to say the least.  My consolation?  I’ve always been able to successfully complete the races despite being hurt less than a month until race day.

This time it feels harder though.  I know not to push myself.  If I do, I’ll only make things worse.  I actually choked up a little at my chiropractor’s office yesterday.  I told him that I was supposed to do a 6-mile tempo run today.  But I was having second thoughts about it.  Mentally I need this 20-miler I’m planning on doing Saturday.  I was scared/nervous that if I completed the 6 miles that I might be hurting too much to get the 20 done.  His response? If you’re hesitating, then don’t do it.  Take the break.

I love this guy, though.  He’s awesome.  He has never once said “you shouldn’t run”.  He has only encouraged and given me tools to use in order to make me a stronger, better runner.  I wouldn’t have made it as far as I have in my training if it weren’t for him and his fancy healing machines.

So I’m taking a break today. I’m planning on plugging the Wii in and doing some Wii Fit.  I need to move.  I need to keep my strength up, literally.  I *know* if I’m not hurting I will complete the 26.2 relatively easily.  (It won’t be easy, but I’ve trained for it and can do it. Not hurting would just make it more enjoyable.)

Right now I’m trying to keep my thoughts in a happy place.  Visualize the healing that needs to happen both physically and mentally so I can accomplish this goal.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Training

  1. warmchocmilk

    December 16, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I’m visualizing the healing! You go girl!

     
  2. Jaime

    December 16, 2010 at 10:43 am

    You have a very smart chiropractor. And you’re being smart by listening to your body. Take the breaks when your body tells you to. You’re going to have an amazing race in a few weeks! 🙂

     
  3. Bari

    December 16, 2010 at 10:54 am

    If you have the ea sports more workouts, do that one. The scenery reminds me of a resort in the Caribbean or something.

    I’m sure you will complete your marathon & I’m glad you are being smart and taking breaks in your training.

    Hugs, hooker!

     
  4. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    December 17, 2010 at 5:24 am

    I’m so sorry that you are still having problems. You haven’t made the full switch to the Vibrams?

     
  5. roo

    December 17, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I know you can do this. But I am so sorry you’re still hurting. Glad you have a chiro that encourages you instead of discouraging you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
