RSS

Holiday Hoedown #3

08 Dec

Holiday Hoedown Challenge
Wow, what a week it’s been.  I’ve been a slacker…sort of.  I was supposed to do 6 miles of a tempo run on Thursday…which turned into just under 4.  I was starting to feel my hip while I was running.  I didn’t want to push myself so I couldn’t accomplish my long run over the weekend.  Because of this ache in my hip, I didn’t get around to doing the tworkout from last week.  But I got my miles in my 18-mile long run on Sunday.  Which was not what I was hoping it was.

First off, I *always* run with a piece of gum in my mouth.  It keeps my mouth not feeling pasty.  I can’t constantly drink otherwise I get a side cramp, so gum works nicely.  I forgot my gum, but I wasn’t about to turn around and head home for it.  I figured I’d just get it on my second lap.  My legs felt tired for the first few miles.  I was having trouble finding my groove.  Not to mention I hit every.single.red.light along my route…which means I had to stop every 3/4 of a mile or so.

Then I felt nauseous through the whole run.  Not hungry, but queasy.  I tried having a chew or two and then a gel, but those didn’t help.  It just made it worse.  I was blaming it on the odd time I was running.  I started at just about 1:15 pm.  I’ve fueled for a late afternoon run and a morning run, but I didn’t want to eat something too heavy, so I ate light.  Not sure if it was *too* light or what.

Right foot. Left foot.  Right foot.  Left foot.  Lather.  Rinse.  Repeat.

Finally get back to the house for a refill on the water bottles…which I didn’t really need because I wasn’t drinking much due to the nausea.  Went potty and, despite wanting to call it quits, headed back out.

Half mile down the road I realized two things.  I forgot the gum, again.  And I forgot to throw a gel into my pouch.  Yay me.  Way to prep, Kirsten.

Since I started training for the 26.2 I’ve been making sure to drink or eat something regularly throughout my runs.  I wanted my body to get used to the intake early on.  I don’t want to hit “the wall” in Orlando.  I must be doing something correctly because on all my long runs so far I haven’t felt depleted.  The stomach has grumbled, but my body still has reserves.

I walked most of the second lap.  I twisted my ankle and it was hurting.  My hip was flaring up and aching each and every time I tried to run.  I debated at a couple different places whether to cut the run short.  But I didn’t want to.  I wasn’t going to push myself with running, but I was going to complete the run.

Here’s what’s interesting to me.  Six months ago I would have pushed myself to run.  Six months ago if you had asked me what my goal for Disney was, I would have said to run the whole 26.2.  Six months ago I would have felt discouraged and mad at myself for not being able to complete my training as designed.

But, here I sit with two 18-mile runs and a 20-mile run under my belt.  If I work hard at being not broken (aka stretch and ice a ton and take it easy) but keep my fitness level relatively up, there is no doubt in my mind that I will complete that 26.2 happily.  Will I run it all? Maybe not.  Am I okay with that? Definitely.  Because Disney will not be my only marathon.  If nothing else, I know this.

I’m truly enjoying the miles.  Even if some of them hurt.

Brooke commented on my post about my 20-miler and asked if I thought I’d still have enough to give another 6.2 miles.  Honestly? Yes.  Would it be easy? Probably not.  But at the end of my first 18 and the 20, I felt like I *could* have kept going…and this was running alone.  On race day? Surrounded by thousands of people, knowing that T would be there and ChristieO and Brooke will be running too? I’ll finish.  I may cry a thousand tears and possibly puke, but I’ll finish.

My totals for the week:

Fitness challenge: 273 minutes of exercise.

Non-fitness challenge: Did I try something new? Does not beating myself up for a run that was not how I pictured it count? Then yes I did.  I did manage to get my water intake in.  I’ve been Nuun-ing and watering quite well.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Holiday Hoedown #3

  1. Bari

    December 8, 2010 at 8:32 am

    I’d definitely say not beating yourself up about a run that wasn’t what you’d originally envisioned it be a success. Definitely take care of yourself so you can cross that finish line. You know I’ll be rooting for you!

     
  2. colormeroo

    December 8, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    You gave it your best – that’s what matters! 🙂

     
  3. Tiffany

    December 8, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    So proud of you! I can’t believe you are so close to your race – You have worked so hard and good for you that you are listening to your body and intuition on taking care of your hip. I hate when I forget gum – Its always rough without it!

    Oh, and good for you for not beating yourself up! We waste way too much energy beating ourselves up. Love you!

     
  4. erin

    December 9, 2010 at 10:26 am

    “I’m truly enjoying the miles” <—- ALL that matters! you are amazing 🙂

     
  5. AnnG

    December 12, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    I definitely say not beating yourself up is a good new thing!! Good for you!! and can I just say WOW!! that’s a lot of miles!! So proud of you for keeping it up even though you weren’t as prepared as you would have liked to have been! Whooohooo!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
