RSS

Holiday Hoedown #2

01 Dec

Holiday Hoedown Challenge
Checking in this week. It’s been a hard one for me both emotionally and physically.  But also a really good one. I guess that’s life for you. The ups and downs of it all.

So we’ll start with the highs.  Thanksgiving with family and friends.  Good foods and lots of it, but I can’t stuff myself, so I ate until I was content and then made everyone wait for a couple hours before digging into the pie.  No stuffed Kirstens here!  Friday was filled with Black Friday shopping and soup/salad/breaksticks for lunch at Olive Garden.  I wish I could count the 6 hours I spent on my feet shopping Friday because that would have been awesome for my exercise minutes.  But alas, no cheating here.  Saturday was my 20-miler, which as far as running in the mini-blizzard goes, was pretty good.  (We’re still not talking about my phone incident.  Well, okay, I am, but I’m not talking *happily* about it.)  Sunday was a day of rest and catchup before the week and reality hit.

The lows? Stupidly spending 6 hours on my feet shopping on Friday, the day before a long run.  I hydrated but probably not enough.  I need to stay on top of it.  My next three long runs are 18, 20, and 18.  No time for being dehydrated.  I’ve been trying to get my ounces of water in, but I probably only got my 60 required ounces 4 days out of 7.  I didn’t excel in that realm.

But my exercise minutes were pretty good.  They probably could have been better.  They should have had at least another 30 minutes on there, but my legs are still worn out and I just couldn’t get them to do it.  So my total minutes from Wednesday through Tuesday is 309 minutes.  Not too shabby, but next week should be better.  I hope to get both tworkouts done.  (I had to miss last night’s due to a meeting.)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Holiday Hoedown #2

  1. Bari

    December 1, 2010 at 8:43 am

    I am in awe of anyone who can run 20 miles, especially when dehydrated! Definitely take care of yourself and make sure to rest your legs those days before the long runs. I’m sure you will knock them out of the park!

     
  2. Melissa

    December 1, 2010 at 10:12 am

    You are amazing!! I don’t know how you do it!

     
  3. Jamee @ A New Kind of Normal

    December 1, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    You are my hero! I can’t imagine running 20 miles! My team is filled with such inspirational women!

     
  4. Brooke

    December 1, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    i’d be interested in your thoughts on the 20 miler. does it inspire confidence that you’ll be able to add the extra 26.2?

     
  5. Trish

    December 1, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I agree you are amazing..wow!

     
  6. Lisa

    December 1, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    If I ran 20 miles, my exercise minutes would be out the roof because I am so slow, lol. You are all kinds of awesome.

     
  7. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    December 2, 2010 at 8:20 pm

    I wanted to count laundry into my minutes so I completely understand wanting to count shopping!

    I am in awe of your running. You’re amazing.

     
  8. Tiffany

    December 2, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    YOU are one amazing lady! I am so, so blessed to have you in my life and so blessed to have you as such an amazing example of health. Great job on your runs… Sorry about your phone. 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
