RSS

Do me a favor

09 Nov

Go over and sent some love and support to my good friend, ChristieO.  Because next Sunday she’s going to be doing an amazing thing.  She’s going to be participating in her first half-Ironman triathlon.  For those of you who don’t know that’s a total of 70.3 miles.

ChristieO. is the reason I wanted to sign up for the Disney World marathon.  Last spring she sent out a tweet on Twitter.  She and her husband were signing up for races.  One of them being this Miami-Man Half-Ironman and the other the Disney World marathon.  See, her ultimate goal is to successfully complete a full Ironman, and mentally she wanted to complete a full marathon before attempting that huge goal.  She asked if anyone wanted to sign up with her for the marathon.

A year ago after I had completed my first Nike Women’s half marathon, I swore that there was no way I’d want to complete a full marathon because at that point, with my legs throbbing and hurting and stiffness starting to set in, there was no way I could imagine doing an additional 13.1 miles on top of the 13.1 I had just completed.

And then I convinced a group of ladies, however reluctantly, at the Sisterhood to join me in a half marathon through Team in Training.  I marveled at each one of these ladies.  Ladies who had never been runners.  Ladies were willing to push their boundaries and walk/run 13.1 miles…because I thunk it up.  And I watched them complete this goal and I was beyond thrilled.  It brings tears to my eyes to think of their trust that this was possible.

And so when talking with Coach Joe about my goals for this upcoming marathon, I told him that I was nervous (aka scared) because I was at a point where I *knew* I could go out and complete a half marathon.  But I didn’t *know* that I could complete a full marathon.  Because 26.2 is a long ass way, yo.  Seriously.  This town I live in? It’s geographically small.  Next weekend’s long run is 18 miles.  I’m making two laps of 9.  And no matter how nervous it makes me thinking about doing this Friday night – in the cold and dark – I know I’ll do it.

And I know one of my biggest supporters is ChristieO.  She has inspired me to keep going.  She says I inspire her.  I’m proud to call her my friend.  I’m lucky to have her on my side.  I can.not wait to run Disney with her.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Do me a favor

  1. Melissa-Shrinking Jeans

    November 9, 2010 at 7:44 am

    I think you both are just fan-freaking-tastic and inspirational. I have no doubt that you both will accomplish everything you set your minds and bodies to. xoxo

     
  2. Lisa

    November 9, 2010 at 9:58 am

    YOU inspire me.

     
  3. Jade @ Tasting Grace

    November 9, 2010 at 11:59 am

    70.3 miles? I think that just blew my mind.
    Y’all are amazing women.

     
  4. Nancy

    November 9, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    You’re too late. I’ve already done that.

     
    • girlsworld

      November 9, 2010 at 5:31 pm

      I know! I saw!

       
  5. colormeroo

    November 11, 2010 at 10:35 am

    I just did…but then again, I’m behind on Google Reader like ALWAYS. Love Christie O and love YOU! You BOTH inspire me!

     

Leave a Reply

 
