RSS

MIA

09 Oct

Yes, I have been and not just from this blog.  There’s been a lot going on in life over the past month or so.  When did I last post? Yeah, on September 23rd.  So it just feels like forever.  My runs have consisted of short run/walks over the past few weeks.  Honestly? It’s been demoralizing.  I used to regularly get on the treadmill and pound out 6+ miles.  No big deal.  The longer my long runs were outside, the harder it became to get on the treadmill.  Throw in the pain I was having in my hip and knee, and I wavered between wanting to sit on the couch and cry and get out and run until I could run no more.  Neither option would have benefitted me.  So instead I ran gently until it hurt and then stopped – usually choking back a few tears.  Because this year at NWM I was supposed to reach my goal of under 2 hours.  I had been training and getting better and faster and impressing even myself.  *patting self on the back*  Heck, I even got an email from Coach Joe saying “way to go!”  Yeah, that didn’t feed my ego at all.  *Hi, Coach Joe!*

Speaking of Coach Joe.  Today on my run a lot was running through my head (ha! running!).  Some of you saw my lovely interview with Coach Joe and Coach Dean.  Wait, let me find the link.

Running After Kids (Episode 3-5) from Joe English on Vimeo.

Yeah, that was a fun day in San Diego.  But as I watched that for the first time, I noticed I said one word A LOT. Can you figure it out? *mental*

Yes, I’m a head case.  But in the last month I’ve lost my mojo.  My first thought when a run feels hard is, “eh, I’m tired. I want to stop.”  And unfortunately I have been.  This doesn’t include the pain aspect of being broken.  This is “I’m bored of this and it’s hard and I don’t wanna!”  Can you hear the whine? It’s been fun in my head lately.  But as I hit my last mile of my 6-mile run today and just wanted to walk the rest.  But I glanced at the time and saw that I had less than 10 minutes before my self-proclaimed time of “get ‘er done in less than 58 minutes”.  You know what happened next? I saw ChristieO’s face.  Just like in this picture.  With that BondiBand on her head.

 

And you know what? I did just that.  I even picked up my pace for the last 0.25 to 0.5 mile.  I’m not over the mental hump yet.  But in 7 days I will be on my way home from completing my 4th half marathon in a year.  I’ve come a long way baby!!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “MIA

  1. Brooke

    October 9, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    shut up and run – i love it!! 🙂 i’m all over the place with my running too. are you worried about getting it back before disney?

     
    • girlsworld

      October 9, 2010 at 3:40 pm

      To answer your question. Yes. Nervous about three 20-milers. But I’m hoping next Sunday – race day – helps my head.

       
  2. Bari

    October 9, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    You have come a long way, baby! 4 1/2 marathons in a year is amazing. You may be mental, but I’d argue that you are mental in a good way. It takes a lot of determination to train for and run 4 1/2’s in a year. I know you are going to head out to NWM and kick some serious asphalt!
    Love you, girl!

     
  3. christieo

    October 11, 2010 at 9:36 am

    Seriously, girl, you HAVE come a long way. And you’re a BEAST on the pavement! Truly! You’re like the wind! A gazelle! I can’t wait till you kick that 1/2’s ass.

    The 20 milers worry me too, but you and me, we’ll just SHUT UP AND RUN. right?

    ps. i’m so flattered my big mug was in your head for your run!! LMAO!!

     
  4. christieo

    October 11, 2010 at 9:37 am

    ps. you should post on here more.

     
  5. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    October 12, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    You are going to kick that 1/2’s ass. Then pick it up, laugh in it’s face, and drop kick it into 2011.

    You rock. That is all.

     
    • girlsworld

      October 12, 2010 at 7:29 pm

      I think this is the best comment ever!

       
  6. Melissa-Shrinking Jeans

    October 15, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    KICK SOME ASS!!!!

     

Leave a comment