RSS

Rest

23 Sep

*waving* Hi.  It feels like it’s been forever since I posted here, but it’s really only been a week.  And you know why? Because my 14-miler that was slated for last Saturday? Turned into a 1.8 mile run plus 3-mile walk.  My hip and knee were acting up and hurting so I stopped.  I haven’t run since.  I accepted that I have the extra time scheduled into my training plan that I couldn’t justify pushing myself.  I’m still hoping that I can make my goal in San Francisco next month.  I want that sooooo much.  But if I break myself trying to get that time, then I might just mess things up for January.  And I’m not willing to do that.  So, I’ve been on a running break.  Unfortunately this means that I’ve essentially been on a cardio break.  With the kids in full swing with school and activities, I don’t have the leeway to go to the gym or the pool.  I’ve been doing planks, lunges, and squats every day.  I’m not sure if part of my hip/knee issues is muscle tightness.  I mean, seriously, I ran 33 miles in a week.  That’s a lot – especially since it was done in 3 runs.

Tomorrow I have an initial consultation with a sports chiropractor.  I’m hoping that he can help me.  My regular chiro had been pretty helpful in realignment, but for some reason whatever he’s doing doesn’t seem to hold, so I’m thinking my tendons are revolting against me.

I’m antsy about running.  It feels like it’s been forever and I’m missing it.  A lot.  So I’m hoping that I get the okay  to run this weekend.  My sanity needs it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Rest

  1. roo

    September 29, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    How did the sports chiro appt go? Did I miss an update?

     

Leave a Reply

 
