RSS

Weekly Checkin

25 Aug

So let’s see.  The last you heard from me (unless you following me on Daily Mile and/or Twitter), I was broken.  Broken was no fun.   But last Wednesday I got on the treadmill to give the foot a chance.  I was slated for 4 miles and it felt pretty good.  I did start to feel twinges towards the end so I stopped at 3.5.  And then iced and rested some more.  I went into my long run on Saturday knowing I wanted to at least do 8 miles and hopefully 10.  I was nervous, but Saturday morning I got up, had some breakfast and headed out.  The first 5 miles were pretty good, but it was warmer than it had been 2 weeks prior and I felt it in my lungs which ultimately affected my muscles.  I had no pain in my foot at all and I did complete 10 miles, much slower than I wanted to, but I completed it nonetheless.

My goals? Well, let’s see. I’m not accomplishing the kid one.  I’m trying, but there’s been a lot of stress going on in the family with sickness and death, so I’ve been trying to hold it all together in addition to the extra burdens.  (Which I gladly carry, but they are still burdens to carry.)  The reading? Well, I’m reading.  Maybe not hitting the goals of 3-4 times a week, but definitely reading.  And the Saturday before last, T and I had a nice little date night of movie watching and wine drinking which was very lovely.  It was nice to just hang out and relax.

So, I am succeeding.  This weekend’s run will be tough for me – 14 miles, but it will get done!

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 25, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Weekly Checkin

  1. April

    August 25, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I’m sorry things have been stressful. I’m glad your foot is feeling better though! I know you’ll rock that long run! 🙂

     
  2. Karena

    August 25, 2010 at 10:40 am

    I’m glad you’re off the injured list and back to training. I know you miss it and get antsy when you can’t — it’s your stress reliever. And right now it sounds like you need all the stress relief you can get!

     
  3. audrey @seemamarun

    August 25, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    Yes you ARE succeeding – in spite of lots of burdens you’re carrying. Glad your foot is doing better too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
