RSS

Another week and more miles

04 Aug

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans

So Thea and I the 2 members of the non-losers team for this challenge.  We’ve been having a hard time coming up with how to participate in this challenge.  I’m not shredding, but that’s because my half/full marathon training schedule is so intense (see below).  I have been doing some fairly regular pushups and planks for some upper body work.  Also? The pantry raid/pantry purge that is our monthly project?  Since I don’t have a ton of storage space (aka I don’t have a pantry) mixed with being fairly boring and routine with our meals, we don’t have things that need purging.  Yes, I do have that package of mushrooms in my fridge that I need to do something with before they die and hence I’m going to make spaghetti sauce either today or tomorrow.  This has been a hard thing.  So Thea suggested I focus on more emotional aspects of a healthier life.  With that, I came up with this list.

  • Spend 30 minutes a day with each kid doing something with them that they choose.
  • Plan 1-2 date nights with the husband
  • Read a book for 30 minutes at least 4 times a week.

I’m happy to report that I completed the first one on the list yesterday.  T is out of town this week, but I’m hoping we will be able to do something the following weekend together.  And because T has been out of town, I haven’t been getting to bed until after midnight the last couple nights, so no reading for me.  I think everyone will be happier in the house if I reach these goals this month.  And hopefully they will carry over into September after school starts and life gets even crazier.  Though I may have to shoot for something like 30 minutes 3-4 days a week with each kid.  Not being a detractor, just being realistic.

So on to the last week of exercise.

In the last week I probably made my stupidest exercise decision ever.  I emailed Coach Joe and said I think I can farther or faster, what do you think?  He said faster.  Ugh.  I reached out after my speed work on Thursday.  I was supposed to run 4 x 400m with a pace of 1:55.  I’m horrible about pacing.  I ran the first 400 m in 1:37.  I slowed myself down and did the remaining 3 laps between 1:40, 1:45, and 1:50 respectively.  So, yes, I didn’t maintain the 1;37 every time, but I was trying to slow down to get closer to 1:55.  Now don’t hate me.  I know I have this problem.  I’ve paced myself before, but I’ve never tried to aim for a certain pace.  This is *really* hard.  Last week’s long run was originally 8 miles at 9:33.  Coach Joe said to knock off 10 seconds per mile.  Okay.  I can do that.  My pace is not consistent at all.  I ranged between 8:30 and 9:40 throughout those 8 miles for an overall pace of 9:20.   When I got home and was logging in at Daily Mile, I noticed I an had an email from Coach.  He had knocked my 8 mile pace time down to 9:10.  Mmm. could I have sped up that much more? I’m not sure.   He also took away my tempo workout for the next few weeks and added some longer speed work in my schedule.  I’m scared for tomorrow.  Seriously.  I don’t think I can do what he’s asking.  Wanna know what he’s asking?  2 x 1200m with a pace of 5:06.  Dude! That’s 3 laps around the track in just over 5 minutes.  YIKES!!

But overall this week has been a good week.  My foot is still being wonky.  I’m icing it and taking motrin as preventive measures.  The weird thing is that running makes it feel better not worse.  So I’m just going to keep on keeping on.

I did run three days in a row, and yesterday my legs were worn out.  I’m so thankful today is a rest day.

I’ve been doing much better about drinking lots of water.  I’m not keeping track, but I’m pretty sure I’ve been consuming at least 4 of my 26-oz water bottles in me a day.  And on my long run days, I’m probably consuming more because I am drenched with sweat when I’m done and desperately need the water.  My eating this week has been less well-rounded.  Again, blaming it on the husband being out of town.  He took over the responsibility of cooking dinner for the last couple of months, and it’s been hard to step up.  We haven’t been eating unhealthy, but definitely less salad.  Okay, I’ll fess up.  Last night I ate a hot dog for dinner.  I did have a handful of carrots later when I got hungry and drank some Click made with milk last night when I knew I was going to be up late working.

That’s the recap on my week. Can’t wait to read how everyone else’s week went.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Another week and more miles

  1. Stillmary

    August 4, 2010 at 1:36 am

    Wow, Kirsten, you rock! I am bowing and praising you because who can run like that?!!! After reading what you’ve done I don’t have any doubt that you’ll do what Coach Joe assigned you today. You must be the most driven person EVER! I’m in awe.
    And good job on the water. That’s something I have to work on and after a reminder from Bari yesterday, I think it made a big difference on my weigh in today.
    And the hot dog? I’d throw in the towel if I thought I could never have another hot dog. With all your exercise, I’m sure you can afford a hot dog here and there.
    Also, your family goals sound perfect! Keep up the very good work!

     
    • girlsworld

      August 4, 2010 at 8:38 am

      Thanks, Mary. I felt like I needed the push so I’m thankful I have Coach Joe to push me. Water really makes the difference. Your body works so much better when it’s hydrated. Keep up *your* work !

       
  2. Bari

    August 4, 2010 at 7:56 am

    Dude-you will never live down the Lightning McHooker nickname. That’s a good thing-we all bow to your running mojo! I love all your goals-those are awesome. And after all your running, you deserved a hot dog.

     
  3. Christy M.

    August 4, 2010 at 1:13 pm

    Dude, this totally makes me teary-eyed for some reason. I’m so fucking proud of you. Can I say that here? You are amazing. You are strong. And Coach Joe is not going to give you anything you can’t handle. Keep it up girl!!!

     
    • girlsworld

      August 4, 2010 at 3:19 pm

      Thanks girl! I’ve never been pushed this hard. It’s scary!! Now I know how all you felt in January. Thanks for not running away and telling I was crazy.

       

Leave a Reply

 
