RSS

Weekly Check-In

28 Jul

Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans


So as part of The Sisterhood, I’m going to be checking with my weekly training report.  So this last week has been a full week.  I’m following my training plan set for by Coach Joe (our coach from VTNT).  My weeks are going to look pretty much the same but with a few differences in miles completed.  So since last Wednesday I completed my tempo workout on Thursday, which consisted of 2 miles at a pace of approximately 8:55 on the treadmill at a setting of 6.7.  Friday was a rest day.  Saturday was my long run.  10 miles.  I got up at 5:45 so I could run before it got hot.  The previous Saturday I completed 6 miles starting at about 9:30 and thought I was going to die.  So I *chose* to get up at 5:45 so I could eat and be out the door no later than 6:30.  I was a little nervous about maintaining my prescribed pace of 10:40.  That’s a pretty slow pace for me, but there were points in my run where I was *much* slower than others.  My average was 9:55.  So still slower than normal, but not slow enough.

Another caveat is that I’ve been running in my Vibram Five Fingers.  But after my run last Tuesday, my right knee was sore.  I know that you have to take it slow when you first start running in the VFFs because it’s like learning to run all over again.  I didn’t want to hurt myself, so my tempo run on Thursday was in my Nikes and I ran the 10 miles in my Nikes too.  The funny part – well maybe not funny, but interesting – my knees have always ached when I run.  Nothing that lingers, but ache nonethless.  I haven’t had *any* knee pain since running in my VFFs.  But by mile 5/6 on Saturday, my knees were sore, and they continued to hurt throughout most of the rest of the day.

Yesterday was my first run of the week.  It was a 6-mile run at 9:33 (which is 6.3 on the treadmill).  I am convinced my stride on the treadmill does not equate to accurate mileage on the treadmill.  I’m certain of this.  The 6 miles on the treadmill felt very hard compared to my 10-miler on Saturday.  But I ran my 6 miles in my VFFs.

I’m trying to get as much sleep as possible because I know once school starts for the girls, my time is going to be very tight again.  I will be getting up early to do my runs during the week and staying up too late getting my work done.  You know, the paying job.

This weekend will only be 8 miles for my long run.  I’m planning on wearing my VFFs as I am mentally ready to tackle running with them 100%.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Weekly Check-In

  1. Melissa Anderson

    July 28, 2010 at 2:51 am

    I need to get back in the game and start doing some longer runs on weekend. Or maybe any runs? *snort*

    Sounds like you are doing great, skank! Keep it up!

     
  2. Karena

    July 28, 2010 at 3:54 am

    Great job, Kirsten! Sounds like you’re right on plan. I’m really intrigued by the VFFs, but don’t know if they’d be a good idea (even just around the house) given all my past problems. Who knows? They might be the solution! But I hate to drop the money on them not knowing.

    Enjoy your last few weeks before you all get back to the grind!

     
  3. audrey

    July 28, 2010 at 6:44 am

    Wow. You and your mileage amazes me. That is all.

     
  4. xristinejoyce

    July 28, 2010 at 6:46 am

    I’m pressed with your training! I have the Nike Free but am not quite ready for the VFF. Thank you for sharing your experience with it – very interesting!

     
  5. Bari

    July 28, 2010 at 8:56 am

    That’s a lot of miles girl! Good luck on your 8 miler this weekend. I”m glad mine is *only* 4 🙂

     
  6. Brooke

    July 28, 2010 at 10:24 am

    great job getting all those miles in. so you’re working on getting complete over to the VFF that’s awesome that your knee aches go away while wearing them.

     
  7. Renee

    July 28, 2010 at 11:11 am

    You are really getting the miles in. I will be eating your dust but can’t wait to see you in October.

     
  8. xristinejoyce

    July 28, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I meant IMpressed

     

Leave a Reply

 
