RSS

Passing the torch

17 Jul

Last night I signed the whole family up for a fun run.  One mile.  At 8 pm.  Which, I will have you know is bedtime ’round these parts.  But I thought that the fact that they got to stay up late, wear a race bib, and that we would all be doing it together would be a good incentive.  My kids don’t enjoy running.  I want them to appreciate it.  Only time will tell if I get a running partner or not.  They had a blast.  T ran with the 9yo.  I ran with the 4yo and 7yo.  The 7yo didn’t want to run.  She could walk almost fast enough to keep up with me and the little one.  She needed some prodding at times.

I’m happy to report that they all finished.  They all *ran* through the finish line.  They were so cute and exhausted.  I don’t have an after picture, but here they are after pinning their race bibs on.

So, T and I have started our training for Nike Women’s Marathon which is in October.  I’ve been running the last week in my Vibram Five Fingers.  I’ve been wearing them for a couple of months.  Today I ran/walked 6.25 miles in them.  My feet felt really good during that 6.25 miles.  Now? Like this evening as I sit here and type?  My three small toes on my left foot have been in a constant state of cramping.  I’m blaming it on lack of bananas and the heat.  Did I mention that to get my long runs in for this training I’m going to *need* to get up at oh-effing-dark-thirty to do them.  Because the heat seriously made me feel like I was suffocating today.  My standard of effort has always been whether I can take a deep breath periodically while running.  Today? I could totally do that, but it didn’t feel like I was getting enough oxygen.  But I know I’m acclimating at least a bit to the heat.  I’ve noticed the last few runs I’ve done outside that I actually get the chills periodically.  You know, my body releasing heat to stay cool.  It’s kind of neat how the body adapts.  So I have many more runs coming up.  I’m excited to be officially training for the next race.  My mind hasn’t yet accepted the work involved, but I’m getting there.  I have 10 miles next Saturday on the schedule.  And that exhausts me thinking about it, but I’ll do it, and I’ll like it…after I’m done.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Passing the torch

  1. Thea @ Im A Drama Mama

    July 18, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    That’s cool that the kids ran with you. I need to get the kids signed up for more races.

    That’s weird about the cramping. I wonder if that will clear up.

    And dude. Heat sucks. The end.

     

Leave a Reply

 
