RSS

I’m still runnin’

10 Jul

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I last posted here.  The rest of June was cray-zee!  We had our family reunion in Maine and I piggybacked that trip with a conference in Chicago and then trying to get back into normal life.  But, I will have you know, I’m still running.  I took the week off after San Diego as prescribed by Coach Joe.  And then I did some shorter runs.  I haven’t gone much over 6 miles since San Diego.  I’m itching to start training again for the Nike Women’s (half) Marathon in San Francisco in October.  I ran twice in Maine – and sweated bullets there with the humidity.  I also ran twice while in Chicago – again sweating bullets.  And I’m determined to run once a week outside in the dry heat of Nevada this summer.  I’m determined to be prepared for any heat coming my way.  Granted my next races are going to be fall and winter, but I was so disappointed in my performance in San Diego.  I don’t want to be in that position again.  So I’m running.  This week I ran 9 miles.  That was on top of a 10-mile hike on Monday with T and the girls.  Yes, the girls made 10 miles.  Well, the 4yo got a ride for about 3 miles back, but all things considering they did awesome.  Very proud of them.  I’m looking at a 5-miler tomorrow on the treadmill since T is gone for drill this weekend.  I also started incorporating tempo runs back into my schedule.  Tempo runs helped me so much in training for San Diego.  I did one on Friday and while it felt good, I know I could push myself harder and be okay even in the hot garage!  So that’s where I’m at.  Running has definitely become a new lifestyle for me.  I’ve been consistently running for almost 2 years now.  That’s a record for me.  I love training for a race.  It helps keep my motivation going.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “I’m still runnin’

  1. Christy M.

    July 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    I’m so proud of you!!! I need to quit making excuses and get my ass outside for some runs. I’ve become a serious slacker and it’s really bumming me out 😦

     
    • girlsworld

      July 10, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      Christy, no slacking if you want that Rock Star medal after the RNR in San Antonio. Aren’t you starting back with shredding? Did you start? Do I have come down and pop you? (I totally would, too, if it weren’t for that pesky plane ticket that would have to be purchased.) Say the word and I will annoy you.

       
  2. Bari

    July 10, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    I’m in awe of the amount of running you’ve done. I know you were disappointed in your time in SD, but you still ran an amazing race. Getting to run with you in Chicago was so much fun. I hope we get to run together again someday 🙂

     
    • girlsworld

      July 10, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      Bari, I *loved* running with you. It was so nice to not feel like I *had* to do something other than enjoy the run. I hope you didn’t feel any pressure from me to go faster.

       

Leave a Reply

 
