RSS

Oops

29 May

**Update –  I hit the treadmill this afternoon for my 4-miler.  And by mile 2 I was feeling my ankle…and it wasn’t good.  I walked (fast) the last 1.3 miles.  To be honest with you, I’m nervous.  But I’m going to forgo my scheduled 3-mile runs on Tuesday and Thursday and just focus on R.I.C.E (rest, ice, compression, elevation) until Saturday.  I’m still planning on kicking my ankle’s ass if it misbehaves on Sunday, but I’ll cross that hurdle when I get to it. ***

So obviously I’m a liar.  I didn’t come back in a week.  It’s now 3 weeks later.

My ankle.  That’s what I said I’d give you an update about.  The ankle was much better, and then I attempted to run 8 miles last Saturday.   I made it 3 miles and I started to feel it hurt.  I decided that I was going to walk the next 2 miles and then run the last 3.  When I tried to run, it hurt.  A lot.  I walked 5 of that 8-mile “run.”  That afternoon we went to Reno and I bought new Nike running shoes.  I’m a Nike girl.  My feet like Nike.  Ever since then I’ve been icing my ankle and heel 2-3 times a day and taking ibuprofen at least once a day.  I ran 3 miles last Tuesday on the treadmill and then on Thursday I ran 4.  I have to say it felt much better, but I’m not trusting it 100%.  It still feels a little weird.  I’m not sure how else to describe it.

Over the last month I’ve modified my training schedule.  Especially if you compare it to April.  In the month of April I ran 90 miles.  And then on May 2nd I ran a half marathon.  No wonder I’m broken.  But including the half marathon I’ve *only* run 44 miles in May.  I have a scheduled 4-miler this weekend that I will do tomorrow.  Between now and the half marathon next Sunday (not including the 4-miler tomorrow) I have 8 miles to run between 3 days.  I’m planning on running all but 2 on the treadmill to help with the pounding on my ankle.

I can’t believe that in 6 days our Team Shrinking Jeans team will be together for the first time.  I’m sure there will be a plethora of pictures taken next weekend.  I promise to share.  I am so excited to run a race with a group.  So excited I can’t even tell you.  But I will do a post-race-weekend recap next week.

Thank you to all who have supported me in this endeavor.  No words could describe how thankful I am.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Oops

  1. Heather@ShrinkingJeans

    May 29, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    I’m SO excited and grateful for something to look forward to! San Diego, get ready for Team SJ! Woot!

     
  2. Lisa

    May 31, 2010 at 6:06 am

    While you are kicking things, can you kick my hip too?!!!!! I walked 3.2 miles this morning and felt good, but man oh man, walking goes by so much slower than running. However, when I walk, I can talk the entire time and as long as I have someone to talk to, it’s kinda nice. I cannot wait to see you in a few days!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
