RSS

Week 7…wait a minute…

22 Mar

Wow! I have officially started week 8 of my training!  I can hardly believe it.  This last week was a little rough.  I’ve been recovering from being sick a week ago which left me with some sort of crazy rash all over my torso.  It doesn’t hurt.  It doesn’t itch, but man it looks horrible.

So, first, I want to say THANK YOU to all the wonderful people who have continued to donate.  I need to update my little sticky note at the top of the blog, because there are so  many new people, and I appreciate their willingness to donate in my name.  AND there are ton more who have donated to the whole Shrinking Jeans team and you? are awesome also!

I stuck to my schedule this week which was a 4 mile run on Monday, 5 miles on Wednesday, and a 3-mile tempo run on Friday.  I was originally planning on doing my long run of 6 miles on Saturday before I headed off for scrapbooking, but T wanted to head out to the hills with a local running club for a run.  And since his schedule fluctuates and he doesn’t get out running as regularly as I do, I felt it was worth the sacrifice. 🙂

So Sunday morning I headed outside for my 6-mile run.  I was contemplating throwing an extra 0.5 mile in there just because, but I decided that after about the first mile I was just going to do my 6.  Why, you ask?  Well after crossing a street with a light and I hopped back up on the curb and took a couple steps, my lack of gracefulness finally caught up to me and I tripped over an uneven spot in the sidewalk.  I’m happy to say that I only hit the side of my right knee and my hand as I caught myself.  I never did stop though, I pushed off with my right hand and just kept going.  I have a bruise now though.

This week brings an increase in my long runs.  It jumps to 8 miles this weekend for a couple of weeks and that number won’t get below 8 until the week before our race in San Diego.  I am so excited!!  I also get to run my longest scheduled training run of 12 miles with 7 members of Team Shrinking Jeans in April.  We are getting together at Christy’s place in Texas for a little R&R and ‘sisterhood’ bonding time (along with a handful of other sisters who are on Team Shrinking Jeans).  And then I just signed up for a local half marathon the weekend after our little retreat – which is a month before the half marathon in San Diego.  I’m doing it for two reasons.  I want to see how I perform at 4500 ft. above sea level.  If I can do at least as good as I did in San Francisco last fall, then there should be no reason I can’t reach my goal time in San Diego.  And, I’m a glutton for punishment.  T, unfortunately, will be out of town that weekend for drill, so he won’t get to run it too.

So that’s the last week and a little peek into the future.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Week 7…wait a minute…

  1. Brooke

    March 22, 2010 at 11:38 am

    you all are going to have so much fun! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
