RSS

This week? Not good

12 Mar

So why was it not good?  Well I had a great, fantastic, amazing 6.2 mile run on Wednesday that left me feeling happy that I could run our Leprechaun Race 10K on Sunday even faster than the Turkey Trot last year.  Both runs are at the same place.  And then while at gymnastics Wednesday evening, I got really tired.  Like, I want to crawl into bed and sleep tired.  Which, by the way, is not my normal tired.  I came home, ate dinner, and got my work done.  Thankfully there wasn’t a lot of it.  I didn’t have a fever, but every.single.bone in my body ached.  I crawled into bed by 9:30 and slept horribly.  Waking up Thursday was only good in the fact that I didn’t have anywhere to be before 11.  And then, my sweet husband, called and said he was coming home from work so I could rest.  Can I tell you that in the almost 12 years we have been married not once has he taken off work when I was sick.  I have to give a shout out to our fantastic Nevada governor who has made my husband not feel so committed to his job because the only promise in this job is that your pay/benefits will only decrease and your furlough days may only increase.  I’m the one who benefited.  And I benefitted today too.  He even stayed home today and did all the normal running around stuff that I do.

I missed my tempo run today.  This makes me sad.  I have really started to see how those shorter runs have helped me increase my “normal” pace and feel stronger.  I know I need to let my body rest, and I will.  I promise.  I’m just hoping I wake up tomorrow and feel significantly better.  I really want to run on Sunday.  I had been shredding on my non-run days and was enjoying how tired my body felt at the end of the day.  Tired from exercising, not tired from lethargy like today.

So here’s hoping that next week is significantly better.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “This week? Not good

  1. jen (@jeninRL)

    March 12, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    You are one of my running heroes!! Seriously, you are a serious badass!!!! I am glad you listened to your body and rested!! and YAY for hubby for taking time to take care of mama!!

    Hope you can run on Sunday but don’t overdo it!!

    keep on keepin’ on!

    xoJen

     

Leave a Reply

 
