RSS

My New Motto

13 Feb

I am a fan of Nike.  Always have been. (and I won’t go into how much I love the Nike+ system.now.)  You know their slogan “Just Do It”?   Well, I love it.  I mean, really.  That is what we need to do when we don’t feel like exercising.  Just do it.  Tonight we went to the Nike Outlet store to look for new shoes.  Mine current ones still feel good, but I have at least 325 miles on them.  I believe you’re supposed to replace your shoes every 200-400 miles based on your weight and how hard you are on your shoes.  I’m light, so I have always erred on the side of going longer.  Not to mention I’m cheap and even though I know it is worth it, it’s hard to fork over $100 for a pair of shoes more than once a year.  This last pair I got a few weeks before the half-marathon in San Francisco.  Anyway, T needed a new pair, so we thought we’d see if we would have any luck at the outlet store.

First off.  We had excellent luck.  We both found a pair that were on sale for $50 a pair.  This is incredible to me.  We never find a good deal on a good pair of running shoes that we like.  Score!  On our way out, though, I noticed the banner in one of their windows.

I’m pretty sure that I’ve been saying for a while now that running (and exercise) is all mental.  Heck, that was the last challenge at The Sisterhood – “Rethink Your Shrink”.  It is so easy to talk yourself out of getting out and running or walking or Wii-ing or cycling or DVD-ing or whatever it is that you do to get your exercise.  This is definitely going to be my new motto.  I’m hoping that when I get to the point of my longest run in this training cycle for Team In Training (12 miles) that while I’m running and trying to convince myself to keep going.  By the way, I will be in the middle of Nowhere, Texas at Christy’s place that Saturday.  I’m just going to chant this to myself.  I might add a little “shut up” to myself before I say “Don’t think. Run.”  But that is what I’m going to be telling that little voice in my head that says other things.  Also, did you notice that there aren’t exclamation points in it?  It’s not yelling at you.  It’s just making a statement.  A simple statement that hopefully will keep you going and reaching your goals.

FYI Nike doesn’t know who I am.  But if they want to throw shoes or gear at me, I won’t complain.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “My New Motto

  1. Melissa

    February 14, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I struggle SO HARD with the mental aspect of *trying* to run. So hard.

     
    • girlsworld

      February 14, 2010 at 8:53 pm

      Melissa,

      Do you remember my struggle last fall befor my half in San Francisco? I could barely convince myself to run 3 miles. No, not just run, but be on the treadmill for more than 3 miles. I couldn’t get that voice out of my head that kept telling me it was too hard, too boring, too much other stuff I should be doing. I am so thrilled to finally be past that point, but it took completing that half to get there. Just keep doing your training and raising money to get to San Diego. You are strong because you can do all that other cardio. And maybe you should think of it as ‘Don’t think. Walk.’ Get the miles done however you have to.

       

Leave a Reply

 
