RSS

Shrinking Jeans Olympics

12 Feb

Leave it to the Sisterhood to coincide the start of the worldwide Olympics with their own version to keep us moving and healthy.  I have signed up for an event a day over the next two weeks.  The event I will compete in today is a 3-mile run.  This is lovely because Friday’s are normally a run day for me.  Although today is my tempo run and that means alternating with a slower pace, I’m going to attempt to keep my “slow” as fast as I can.  Tomorrow I’ve signed up for pushups.  As part of the hundred pushups challenge that I’ve been working on for the past 5 week, I have an endurance test this weekend to do.  Might as well count it towards my pushup event, Olympics style.  Sunday is technically my day of rest, but they have a 1-mile dash scheduled, and really, what’s a mile as fast as I can go?

My official training is going well.  I’ve been staying on top of my runs and really pushing myself for the shorter runs.  I have gotten down to my best 1-mile time of 8 minutes.  I participated in the Sisterhoods Tworkout, which is their twitter workout during the breaks of The Biggest Loser on Tuesday nights.  We had to do 3 minutes worth of lunges and 3 minutes worth of stride jumps.  My butt is still sore.

My fundraising is trucking along.  In the last week I have collected another $90 in checks and some more online donations.  Thank you so much everyone for your support.  I can’t believe how close I am to the halfway mark of my goal!  It is so exciting!

So on that note, it’s time to get my day started so I can get to my run this afternoon!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Shrinking Jeans Olympics

  1. Brooke

    February 12, 2010 at 8:12 am

    you know the definition of never giving up? knowing you’re gonna totally kick everyone’s rear today and get gold yet the rest of us STILL signing up to participate. 😛

     
    • girlsworld

      February 12, 2010 at 8:13 am

      You guys keep me motivated by trying to stay ahead of you! A little healthy competition!

      Kirsten

       
  2. Melissa

    February 12, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Hah!! I totally agree with Brooke.

    An 8-minute mile?? WOO-HOO!! Rock on, sister.

     

Leave a Reply

 
