RSS

Tempo Run

05 Feb

Today was my first tempo run.  Way back when, in junior high, when I ran track and cross country we called it interval training.  Essentially you warm up and then you run fast for a certain amount of time or a certain distance and then you slow down for an equal distance/time and then repeat and then cool down.  I will admit that I’m having a bit of a hard time following the run schedule this first week and a half.  The longest distance is 3 miles.  I had the hardest time breaking the mental block to get past the 3-mile mark I’ve been scared to drop back down to that level. But today I did it.  I did my tempo run and it wasn’t bad.  Tomorrow is going to be another 3 mile day.  But my plan is to run it as hard and fast as I can.  I think, don’t hold me to this, that I am going to aim for about 23 minutes.  I’m pretty sure I can do it.  And is it a little twisted that I’m excited about the beginning of April?  Because the schedule shows my first 10-mile run.

Oh, and I’ve been faithful to the onehundredpushups.com schedule.  I completed week 4 today.  The lag time between sets has been variable, but today I did the first 4 sets of 29,33,29,29 in 20 minutes.  Then I had to go pick up the 4yo from preschool and forgot to do the last set until about 90 minutes later, but I was able to complete the minimum requirement of 40.  For-tee pushups straight.  Hot diggity!  You should check out my guns.  They are pretty awesome if I do say so myself!

So that’s it for now.  I’ll be back to check in next week, or maybe before that, and let you know how the training is coming.  (I get permission to run 4 miles two days next week! Don’t tell anyone that I’m excited about that fact!)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Tempo Run

  1. Melissa

    February 6, 2010 at 6:14 am

    I think this post just made me throw up in my mouth a little. You are frickin’ crazy.

     
    • girlsworld

      February 6, 2010 at 9:06 am

      But even though I made you throw up a little, you know you love me!

       
  2. Melissa

    February 6, 2010 at 6:17 am

    P.S. Great job on the push-ups!

     

Leave a Reply

 
