RSS

Do no harm

03 Feb

That is part of hippocratic oath that doctor’s take when they become doctors, right?  I also try to live by this motto.

This afternoon it was brought to my attention that perhaps the challenge I issued in my last post may not be well received.  A good friend pointed out that she didn’t want to play that game.  She was planning on donating but didn’t want to be part of the stunt of raising money and voting on whether or not I should shave my head.  At first I was stunned.  This concept seemed completely harmless in my mind.  And I had many reasons for why I chose this challenge.  I am not going to get into them, because they don’t really matter.  What matters is that I don’t put myself out in the world – internets and otherwise – and make people think my intentions are anything less than sincere.  Especially when I am asking for friends and family and some relative strangers to donate money in my name to such a worthy cause as Team In Training.  I don’t want to taint the importance of what I am doing – what Team Shrinking Jeans and all the rest who take part in charities that are close to their hearts.  The mission is too important.

So, I am retracting the challenge of voting on my new hairstyle.  I am asking you to support me in my determination to raise as much money as I can to support The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

The issue of cancer is very close to my heart.  My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer just over 7 years ago.  She found out her biopsy was indeed cancer on Christmas Eve.  I was there when she got the call.  I remember that day vividly in my memory and it brings tears to my eyes thinking about it.  My mom is a big part of my life and it gave me a reality check of “what if”.  I am happy to report that after surgery and chemo and radiation she has been cancer-free for 7 years.  My uncle was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma 5 or so years ago.  He is strong and healthy now after going through chemo and radiation.  Tim’s former boss in Idaho had, I believe, lymphoma.  She went through chemo and radiation.  She had a 2 -year-old at the time.  Today is she is healthy and doing well.

There are so many people that I have met who’s lives have been touched by some form of cancer.  I ask that you donate in my name as a way to help fund research that will undoubtedly find new ways to fight cancer.

I am still planning on getting a hair cut in April with the hair being sent to Locks of Love. So if you see me with significantly less hair come May, you’ll know why…and you’ll also know that it was 100% my decision.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
