RSS

All in the Name of Charity – A challenge

30 Jan

Before I get to the challenge I want to talk a little about Team In Training(TNT) and The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society (LLS).  I am so excited to be a part of this amazing organization.  My uncle, Jimmie, was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma and his wife, my aunt, left such a sweet comment on my fundraising page.  My heart has grown infinitely over the past few months due to many things.  Most of them are personal, but know that my heart is 120% into raising AT LEAST my minimum requirement put forth by TNT and LLS.  (Did you know that at least 71% of every donation made to LLS goes to research or directly helping patients/patient’s families?) The more people that I talk to about TNT, the more people I find out have been affected by leukemia or lymphoma – some with happy endings and, unfortunately, some without.

I will be sending out letters to everyone I know that has not donated yet.  They may be in the form of emails or actual letters for some who may find it easier to donate by check.

So, on to the challenge I talked about.  It’s not a challenge to me.  My challenge is train hard to run the best 13.1 miles I can.  Okay, my challenge is also the fundraising, but that’s where YOU come in.

My challenge for you, and you, and you (and YOUR friends and YOUR family) is that I will shave my head (not BALD, but 98% of my hair will go away) if I AT LEAST meet my goal of $3000 by April 2nd.

But because T is not thrilled at all with the prospects of me lopping off all my hair, I’m compromising.  All those who donate between now and April 2nd will get a vote.  When you donate online there is a place to leave a comment.  Leave me a comment saying whether or not I should shave my head.  (I will include the voting info in my emails and letters also so those not donating online can still have a voice.)  The votes will be tallied on April 2nd.  The majority rules.

If the “yes, shave your head!!” votes win, I am hoping that my hair is long enough to donate it to Locks of Love (it must measure 10 inches in length by that point). My scalping will be videotaped and posted here and probably over at The Sisterhood so everyone who voted can appreciate the wonder of my (essentially) bald head.

To make it interesting and so I can get as much exposure as I can, I would appreciate everyone linking and posting and tweeting and sharing with as many people as you can.  For every donation of at least $30, your name will be entered into a random drawing at the end of the challenge for a $50 gift card to your choice of major retailer. (If you all are as awesome as I think you are, and I reach my goal before March 15th I may just have to come up with more ways for you to win or more prizes or something.)

The link, again, to my fundraising page is found here.

Please help me fight cancer by donating to this awesome organization.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “All in the Name of Charity – A challenge

  1. Karena

    February 1, 2010 at 12:32 pm

    Wow, I’m surprised to see this hasn’t had much traffic! I’ll be sure and spread the word for you! Voted and donated — go, Team Shrinking Jeans!

     
    • girlsworld

      February 1, 2010 at 1:06 pm

      I know! I figured people would be all over this! I appreciate you spreading the word! You are awesome and I can’t wait until Disney! (I am planning on signing up this month, hopefully sooner rather than later!)

      Kirsten

       

Leave a Reply

 
