RSS

January 9-16 / Monday Project – Motivation

15 Jan

Okay, I know today is the 15th, but in my little world of structured exercise, Friday is the end of my week.  Let’s recap the week and see how I did.

Monday I went for my “long” run of 10K.  It was a good run.  I felt strong and happy to be back on the treadmill. Tuesday I joined the Sisterhood on twitter with their Biggest Loser Last Chance workout.  I definitely got a work out.  Between the squat holds, the jumping jacks, the calf raises, and who knows what else, my legs were definitely feeling it in the morning.  Wednesday’s run was okay.  Since T was gone this week and I had a full week of kid activities and MY activities, I wanted to make sure I got my run in, so I set my alarm for 5:45 and actually was up and running on the treadmill by 6:05 am.  For those of you who know me, you know that anything before 7 is early and I don’t wake up that early unless it’s to catch a plane.  But I did it.  I put in my 4.25 miles.  It did not feel good.  I felt nauseous since I had nothing in my stomach and my muscles were nowhere near close to being awake.  The calves were also a little sore from the previous night’s workout.  With that said I still ran the 4.25 in 36:34.  So not bad.  Today before I got changed for my run I saw the mailman drive by, so I trotted out the door to see what presents he brought me.  For one, he brought me my paycheck for the week!  Second I got a little package with this stuff inside (along with other more boring paperwork).

And the detail from the top left corner

Can you say excited?  So I ran and I ran hard.  Friday’s I usually only do about 4 miles.  I felt like I could have done 10.  And maybe if I didn’t have a sleeping 4yo in the other room I would have done it.  The first mile flew by.  I ran my last half mile at a 7:30 pace!!  I am so excited to be fundraising and to be part of such a fantastic organization such as Team in Training.  And to think we haven’t even officially started training!  I am feeling so positive about this experience that I am going to meet, not only my personal fitness goals, but I am going to reach and go beyond my fundraising goals.

So that brings me to the Sisterhood’s Monday Project this week.  It was to create a motivation wall.  Here’s my confession.  I didn’t make one.  I know. I know. I’m slacking.  But… remember this?

No?  That was my Tiffany & Co. inspired necklace I received when I finished my first official half-marathon in San Francisco last October.  I put it on and it has yet to leave my neck.  It is with me and bouncing around my neck 24/7.  It is my inspiration and my motivation.  I ran that 13.1 without walking.  I did it. And that race inspired me to sign up for Team in Training.  This time, though, I am going to be completing this half-marathon with my “sisters”.  The women who have helped me achieve what I have.  They are my motivation.  I can’t wait to meet all of them in San Diego in June.  Then I will have a picture of all of us “sisters” that I can hang on my wall.

I know I am strong enough and determined enough to run 13.1 again come June.  I am hopefully going to do it in May also for a local half-marathon.  I want to see how well I can run at elevation.  So wish me luck.  I also will have some interesting, fun, exciting, crazy news come the end of the month.  It’s all in the name of raising money for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Can’t wait to share the details with everyone!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “January 9-16 / Monday Project – Motivation

  1. Karena

    January 15, 2010 at 10:01 pm

    That memento would be very motivational indeed!

     
    • christieo

      January 17, 2010 at 1:13 pm

      yes, i love wearing inspiration too! i love that necklace!!

       
  2. babyboy3

    January 18, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Love the necklace, you are a great example.

     

Leave a Reply

 
