RSS

99% mental

30 Dec

I have been slacking in the posting department, but I promise that I haven’t been slacking on my miles.  (Well, I did a little last week due to Christmas and lack of sleep and parties.)  But I’ll have you know I ran 6.5 miles on Monday and I’m going to do 4 more miles today.

The Sisterhood, if you didn’t know, has started a new challenge as of today.  It’s called Rethink Your Shrink.  Essentially the 7-week challenge is a way to get around all the negative self-talk and retrain your brain and your impulses in order to be healthier.  I find exercise to be 99% mental.  It is so easy to convince yourself to NOT get changed and to NOT exercise or to NOT eat healthy because fast food is easy and continuing to sit on your rump is easy.  Well, you know what? If you can get around that little voice in your head who is all about instant gratification and make him (or her) SHUT UP, then you’ve won.  Because after you know how to not hear that voice or at least learn to ignore him, you will be on your way to being healthier.  Do I still enjoy my chocolate and chips and Coke and booze?  Heck yes I do!  But my body has acclimated to this new way of life.  It only needs/wants a small portion of what I used to consume before it’s telling me that it doesn’t want anymore.  Before I start to physically feel ick from the sweetness.  It has taken me almost a year to get to this point.  The healthier diet didn’t come easy.  It was a slow process.  The amazing thing, for me, is the fact that once I started exercising more and feeling stronger I didn’t crave the sweets and unhealthy stuff as much.  Which makes it infinitely easier to “be good.”

As part of this challenge there will be weekly “projects” that begin on Monday’s.  I’m curious as to what kind of projects they are.  I know I can benefit from any self-evaluations they can throw at me.  Are you ready to

Rethink Your Shrink!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
